Program for the 1972 Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association

Dwaine Marvick University of California, Los Angeles 1972 Annual Meeting Program Chairman

The general shape of the 1972 Annual Meeting program, to be held in Washington D.C. at the Washington Hilton Hotel from September 5 to 9, is beginning to emerge. The help of a great many people will be needed to make the 68th Annual Meeting program a success. Criticisms as well as suggestions for improvements of the plans outlined below are encouraged.

Suggestions for papers to be presented at the 1972 meeting in the panel sections are earnestly solicited. Please advise the Program Chairman or the relevant section chairman of research which, either now or within a year, will be the basis for a report in one of the areas described below.

These sections are deliberately broad in their scope allowing the membership to suggest panel topics as well as individual papers. Realizing the possibility of research cutting across the sections described, the Chairman requests that such intersectional suggestions be sent either to one of the relevant section chairmen or to the Program Chairman directly.

In recent years some of the highest quality papers and participation in the panels have been contributed by graduate students. For the 1972 meeting, the Program Committee requests the submission of papers from doctoral candidates and has been encouraged to include as many as possible in the panel sections.

Since the program is currently being planned, it is not too early to anticipate events more than a year in advance.

Section Panels:

Political Science as a Profession Robert J. Huckshorn, Florida Atlantic University

Political Theory David W. Minar, Northwestern University

Research Methodology J. Merrill Shanks, University of California, Berkeley Micro-Analysis of Political Behavior **Roberta S. Sigel,** SUNY, Buffalo

Policy Analysis and Public Administration Matthew Holden Jr., University of Wisconsin

Urban and Community Political Processes William J. Hanna, CUNY, Lehman College

American Politics Jack Dennis, University of Wisconsin

Law and Judicial Processes Martin Shapiro, University of California, Berkeley

International Relations A. F. K. Organski, University of Michigan

Comparative Politics—Western Areas Gerhart Loewenberg, University of Iowa

Comparative Politics—Developing Areas Leonard Binder, University of Chicago

Comparative Politics—Communist Areas **David Cattell**, University of California, Los Angeles

Research Frontier Presentations:

In almost all fields of political science today, teams of investigators are carrying out significant largescale research inquiries. These projects move from design stage to data gathering and analysis to publication over a number of years. To discuss more effectively the problems and findings encountered at the research frontier in question, chairmen of each section have been urged to organize some sessions along such lines. These would focus on research frontiers that are being explored by a relatively large-scale endeavor enlisting the cooperation of a group of investigators. The section chairmen ask that suggestions of research projects to be included in this format be forwarded to them as soon as possible.

Colloquia for Specialists:

Within a number of fields and also cutting across conventional boundaries, particular "schools of thought" emerge within our discipline. Those who are preoccupied with a distinctive subject matter, methodological technique, or conceptual approach often keep in close touch with one another; sometimes they have formed their own scholarly association. Understandably, they would like to meet in colloquia or panel sessions devoted to their specialty at the 1972 convention. To meet this type of problem, spokesmen for such study groups should write to the Program Chairman, sketching the kind of program plans they envisage. Often it will be possible to pass such correspondence to one of the section chairmen, who will be able to accommodate them within the plans he has for a set of panels. In other cases, it may be possible to fix a time outside the regular panel sequence when such groups of "likeminded" scholars can meet.

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced twenty-five winners in the competition for the 1971-72 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include five Fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1971-72 to attend the university of their choice and twenty honorary fellows. The honorary fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

Funded Black Graduate Fellows

- James B. Eaglin, Grambling College
- Creighton W. Lee, Baldwin-Wallace College
- Georgia A. Persons, Southern University
- Jules S. Trapp, Howard University

Donald L. Tryman, California Polytechnical State College

Honorary APSA Black Graduate Fellows

- Ernest H. Adams, New York University
- James Bailey, San Jose State College

Jan L. Batiste, University of Oregon

Carole A. Belk, Howard University

Charles E. Bell, Antioch College

Camille E. Brewer, Lincoln University

Carolyn S. Currie, Grambling College

Milton C. Davis, Tuskegee Institute

Elizabeth L. Ellis, Florida A & M University

Helen L. Forrester, Long Island University

Sheila F. Harmon, Southern University

Murel M. Jones, David Lipscomb College

Johnny Lawton, University of California, Riverside Earl R. Niles, Brandeis University Michael C. Rogers, University of Nice Mary Sapp, Florida A & M University Carolyn A. Stamps, Tougaloo College Edward Thompson, University of Arizona Jacqueline M. Washington, Howard University Shirley M. Washington, Howard University

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 16 winners in the national competition for the 1971-72 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—eight political scientists and eight journalists—will come to the Nation's Capitol for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The Program is financed by a Ford Foundation grant, and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants for the 1971-72 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a six-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about January 1, 1972. The Program ends August 15, 1972.

The 16 winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

Political Scientists

Charles S. Bullock, 28, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Georgia.