MRS NEWS

Baumvol, de Yoreo, Mantl, and Neenan to Chair 2004 MRS Spring Meeting



Israel J. Baumvol



James J. de Yoreo



Siegfried Mantl



Thomas X. Neenan

Chairs for the 2004 Materials Research Society (MRS) Spring Meeting are Israel J. Baumvol (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil), James J. de Yoreo (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Calif.), Siegfried Mantl (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany), and Thomas X. Neenan (Genzyme Corporation Drug Discovery and Development, Waltham, Mass.). The meeting will be held jointly with the International Union of Materials Research Societies' 9th International Conference on Electronic Materials (ICEM-2004) in San Francisco on April 12–16, 2004.

Israel J. Baumvol is a professor of physics at the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, where he received his PhD degree (1977). He is president of the State Foundation for Science and Technology in Rio Grande do Sul (since 2002); head of the Brazilian Nanotechnology Research Network of the National Research Council in Brazil (since 2001); founder of the Millennium Institute Microelectronics for the Brazilian Ministry of Science and Technology (2000); founder of the Surfaces and Interfaces Research Facility in Porto Alegre (1999); and the Brazilian head of the International Cooperation Projects of Brazil-France, Brazil-Germany, and Brazil-United States. Baumvol chaired a symposium for the Electrochemical Society and chaired the MRS International Workshop on Device Technology in 2001. He has been an invited professor at Université Paris 7, Ruhr Universität-Bochum, the University of Heidelberg, and IBM-Research Center, United States. He is author or co-author of several journal

James J. de Yoreo is the acting director of Biosecurity and Nanosciences Laboratory in the Chemistry and Materials Science Directorate at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL). He received his PhD degree in experimental physics from Cornell University (1985), was a postdoctoral research associate at the University of Maine and Princeton University, and has been at LLNL since 1989. His research interests include investigation of crystal-growth physics using scanning probe techniques, physical controls on biomineralization and biomimetic synthesis, macromolecular assembly, and creation of surface chemical templates for nucleation of inorganic crystals and two-dimensional macromolecular arrays. De Yoreo is vice president of the American Association for Crystal Growth (AACG)/West and serves as a member of the AACG national executive committee. He has authored or co-authored more than 80 publications and holds several patents.

publications and book chapters.

Siegfried Mantl is head of the Ion-Beam Technique Division of the Institute of Thin Films and Interfaces at Forschungszentrum Jülich and a professor of physics at the University of Aachen. He received his PhD degree at the University of Innsbruck, Austria (1976). His research is focused on ion-beam techniques, epitaxial growth methods, modification and characterization of epitaxial materials, and the development of nanoelectronic devices. A core emphasis of his research is the processing and application of materials for siliconbased nanostructures and nanoscale metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistors, primarily exploiting the materials properties of silicides and silicon germanium. He has authored or co-authored more than 180 publications, including books and review articles, and holds 15 patents. While he has performed most of his work at Forschungszentrum Jülich since joining the center in 1971, Mantl spent a sabbatical year at the Materials Science Division of Argonne National Laboratory (1981–1982).

Thomas X. Neenan is vice president for business operations at Genzyme Corporation Drug Discovery and Development. He received his PhD degree in chemistry from The Pennsylvania State University (1985), followed by a postdoctoral research fellowship (1985-1987) in the laboratory of George Whitesides at Harvard University. He spent seven years in advanced materials research at AT&T Bell Laboratories, working in the area of photoresists, dendrimers, and novel polymer architectures. In 1995, Neenan joined GelTex Pharmaceuticals, where he held a series of research and management positions prior to GelTex's acquisition by Genzyme Corp. in 2000. His current interests include nonabsorbed drugs, novel sequestrants, and bioactive polymers. He has authored or co-authored more than 60 publications and holds 15 patents. He is a member of the board of directors of Cheladerm and serves on the Panel for Materials Science and Engineering under the National Research Council's Board on Assessment of National Institute of Standards and Technology Programs.

For updated information on the 2004 MRS Spring Meeting/ICEM-2004, access Web site www.mrs.org/meetings/. MRS

Materials Research Society online catalog for Proceedings is available at www.mrs.org/publications/

MRS Seeks Nominees for 2004 Outstanding Young Investigator Award

The Materials Research Society is accepting nominations for the Outstanding Young Investigator (OYI) Award to be announced at the 2004 MRS Spring Meeting in San Francisco, which will be held jointly with the International Union of Materials Research Societies' 9th International Conference on Electronic Materials (ICEM-2004).

The OYI Award recognizes outstanding,

interdisciplinary scientific work in materials research by a scientist or engineer 35 years old or younger. The award recipient must also show exceptional promise as a developing leader in the materials area.

The award consists of a \$3,000 cash prize, a presentation trophy bearing a brief citation, and a certificate. Reasonable travel expenses to attend the MRS Meeting at which the award is presented and the meeting registration fee will be reimbursed.

The deadline for submission of nominations is October 1, 2003. For guidelines and application forms, access the MRS Web site at www.mrs.org/awards/ or contact Kathy D'Biagio, Materials Research Society, 506 Keystone Drive, Warrendale, PA 15086-7573, USA; e-mail dbiagio@mrs.org.