Announcements/Chronique

In Memoriam

The editors regretfully announce the death of Steven C. Patten in December 1985. At the time of his death, he was a Professor in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Lethbridge. He received undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Washington in Seattle. Active philosophically, he contributed to many journals including Dialogue, Canadian Journal of Philosophy, Canadian Philosophical Reviews, and many-others. He was one of the senior editors of the Canadian Journal of Philosophy. He served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Philosophical Association. He also was one of the principal organizers of the 1985 Conference on Nuclear Arms in Dubrovnik, Yugoslavia.

A memorial fund has been established in Steve's memory by his family. The fund will provide scholarship aid to a worthy student at the University of Lethbridge. Friends of Steve who would like to contribute should send their contributions to: Eric Hillman, Acting Fund Development Officer, Office of the Vice-President, Finance, University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada T1K 3M4. Cheques should be made payable to the University of Lethbridge and should be designated "Steven C. Patten Memorial Fund".

Eleventh International Wittgenstein Symposium

The Austrian Ludwig Wittgenstein Society is pleased to announce the Eleventh International Wittgenstein Symposium from August 4 to 13, 1986, in Kirchberg/Wechsel (Lower Austria, near Vienna). The theme of this year's symposium will be "Recent Developments in Epistemology and Philosophy of Science".

Scholars wishing to present a paper should request an abstract style sheet and further information from either the President of the Austrian Wittgenstein Society, Dr. Adolf Hübner, Markt 234, A-2880, Kirchberg/Wechsel, Austria, or Professor Werner Leinfellner, Department of Philosophy, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE 68588. The deadline for receipt of abstracts is May 31, 1986.

International Society for the Study of European Ideas

The International Society for the Study of European Ideas (ISSEI) announces the first annual Maxwell Prizes to be awarded for the two best essays in

764 Dialogue

European intellectual history. The two Maxwell Prices are for \$1,000 each. Themes for the prizes are: (1) Tolerance, and (2) Is there a European Cultural Identity? For more information, please write to Jane Hedley. Secretary ISSEI, Pergamon Press Limited, Headington Hill Hall, Oxford 0X3 0BW, U.K. Telephone: (0865) 64881, telex: 83177.

Society of Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy

Notre société commémorera son 25e anniversaire en octobre 1986 (16-19 octobre, Victoria College, University of Toronto) en mettant sur pied un programme élargi.

Par le passé, la plupart de nos congrès annuels se sont tenus aux Etats-Unis. Le Bureau de direction souhaite accroître la participation de philosophes canadiens tant au congrès de 1986 qu'aux suivants. Au congrès de 1986 des séances se dérouleront en français, d'autres en anglais.

Pour plus d'informations, prière de contacter le bureau de la société, Department of Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY 14260, ou Le Professeur Henry Pietersma, Victoria College, University of Toronto, 73 Queen's Park Crescent, Toronto, ON M5S 1K7.

This philosophical society will be celebrating its 25th anniversary in October 1986 (October 16-19, Victoria College, University of Toronto) with an extended programme.

Hitherto most annual meetings have been held in the United States. The Executive is anxious to increase the participation of Canadian philosophers both in the 1986 meeting and in the future. The 1986 meeting will have sessions conducted in French as well as in English.

For more information, contact the Executive Office, Department of Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY 14260, or Professor Henry Pietersma, Victoria College, University of Toronto, 73 Queen's Park Crescent, Toronto, ON M5S 1K7.

Canadian Journal of Philosophy

The Canadian Journal of Philosophy is pleased to announce the new membership of its editorial board as follows: David Copp, University of Illinois at Chicago; Marsha P. Hanen, University of Calgary; Philip P. Hanson, Simon Fraser University; John King-Farlow, University of Alberta; Bernard Linsky, University of Alberta; Mohan Matthen, University of Alberta; Kai Nielsen, University of Calgary; William W. Rozeboom, University of Alberta; Robert Ware, University of Calgary; Ronald M. Yoshida, University of Lethbridge, Administrative Editor; Anne Williams, University of Lethbridge, Executive Secretary; and Brenda Baker, University of Calgary, Managing Editor.

The editorial office of the *CJP* will continue to operate from the Department of Philosophy, University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, AB T1K 3M4 under the administration of the Executive Secretary, Anne Williams.