From the Principal Editor

You will have noticed that the cover of *Mineralogical Magazine* draws attention to two events. We celebrate the 125th anniversary of *Mineralogical Magazine*, and the Mineralogical Society, in the same year as the IMA2002 meeting to be held in Edinburgh in September.

The Journal is inextricably entwined with the Society, and remains wholly run for and by Earth Scientists. It is, therefore, your Journal, and only exists through the support it receives from authors, reviewers and readers. Reviewers are encouraged to submit their reviews electronically, to circumvent the vagaries of the international postal system. We are currently investigating the best way in which to adopt a system of online submission of manuscripts, which should also provide improvements in the timeliness with which work may be published. Mineralogical Magazine now publishes papers, on average, within eight months of their submission. Electronic submission of manuscripts should lower this time still further, and it is hoped it will soon become the norm.

Many of you will now access *Mineralogical Magazine* online, and read it as pdf documents. From the December 2001 issue onwards, you will notice that we now add a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) to the foot of the first page of each paper. The Society, in conjunction with its online publishing partner, CatchWord/Ingenta, has joined the Cross-Ref initiative. This will allow seamless links from the reference lists in papers published in our journal, to the original sources. As more publishers join, more live links will be possible.

It is also encouraging that the scientific impact of *Mineralogical Magazine*, as defined by the ISI's impact factor, has recently increased greatly, and the Journal now has the 5th highest impact factor in its field. These improvements have only been possible through the hard work of those who make the peer review system work. It is appropriate, therefore, to give most hearty thanks and credit to those, from around the world, who acted as reviewers for *Mineralogical Magazine* in 2001:

Referees 2001

Georg Amthauer Etienne Balan Piera Benna Peter Berlepsch Ulrich Bismayer John Bowles Adrian Brearley Durime Buqezi Peter Burns Michael Carpenter Andy Chambers Andrew Christy Nigel Cook Ian Coulson Gordon Cressey Alan Criddle Barry Dawson

Giles Droop Alan Dyer Denton Ebel Henry Emeleus Joseph Evensen Adrian Finch Anthony Fowler Gerhard Franz Franco Frau Philip Goodell Carlo Maria Gramaccioli

Ben Grguric Ulf Hålenius Roger Harding Richard Harrison Frank Hawthorne Stuart Hayward Peter Heaney Mike Henderson

Donald Hickmott Rob Hill Mark Hodson Marion Holness Rob Ixer Bjł rn Jamtveit Adrian Jones Mitsuyoshi Kimata Kevin Knight James Kubicki Peter Leggo Donald Lindsley Ian Madsen Emil Makovicky David Manning Roger Mason Satoshi Matsubara Roger Mitchell Paul Nadeau

Colin Donaldson

Martin Dove

^{*} E-mail: satr@esc.cam.ac.uk

S. A. T. REDFERN

H.R. Naslund Jean-Louis Robert Stefan Nicolescu Malcolm Roberts Roberta Oberti Uta Rodehorst Gema Ribeio Olivo Peter Roeder Joe Ostwald Nancy Ross Michael Palin George Rossman Ian Parsons Aled Rowlands Marco Pasero Michael Schindler Richard Pattrick Kristin Schoenau David Polya Paul Schofield Allan Pring Peter Scott David Prior Frank Spear Andrew Rankin Chris Stanley Jim Reece Gary Stevens Christian Robert Francesco Stoppa

H.-G. Stosch
Lin Sutherland
Ian Swainson
Lorenzo Toscani
Jacques Touret
David Vaughan
J.C. Waerenbourgh
Frances Wall
Mark Welch
Allan Whittington
Peter Williams
Richard Wirth
Alan Woodland
Brian Young
Ming Zhang