EDITORIAL NOTE

The printed text represents the proceedings at Uppsala with the following exceptions: The papers by Einasto, by Pronik and Chuvaev, and by Notni, Oleak and Richter were read by title only. The paper by Shklovsky was read by Woltjer. The paper read by Rogstad and Shostak is not printed. Miss Beverley Harris has now become Mrs Derek Wills. In a number of cases abstracts and figure captions have been drafted by the editors.

D. S. EVANS

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Editors acknowledge with thanks permission to use the following copyright material:

The Editors of *Nature* for the use of figures by Dr H. C. Arp and by Drs E. M. Burbidge and G. R. Burbidge in the contributions by Dr H. C. Arp and by Dr M. J. Rees.

The Tata Institute of Fundamental Research for the use of a figure by Dr J. R. Shakeshaft in the contribution of Dr M. J. Rees.

The Editors of *The Astronomical Journal* and Dr J. G. Bolton for the use of a figure by the latter in the contribution of Dr M. J. Rees.

Annual Reviews Inc., Palo Alto, California for the use of a figure by Sir Martin Ryle in the contribution of Dr M. J. Rees.

The publishers of Astrophysical Letters for permission to reproduce a figure from Vol. 5, No. 6, pp. 257-258 in the contribution by Dr H. C. Arp.

The Chairman of the Scientific Organizing Committee wishes to thank Mrs Helen Holloway for her most effective assistance in the preparation of the scientific program. Grateful acknowledgement is also made to the IAU Executive for financial support.