

THE AERONAUTICAL JOURNAL

Covering all aspects of aerospace

Volume 125 Nur

Number 1290

August 2021





THE AERONAUTICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Holger Babinsky

Editorial Board Chairman: Professor Mike Graham Deputy Chairman: Professor Chris Atkin

Associate Editors

Dr Meredith Carroll Florida Institute of Technology, USA

> Dr Guy Gratton Cranfield University

Professor Ismet Gursul University of Bath

> Professor Li He University of Oxford

Professor Michael Henshaw Loughborough University

Dr Bhupendra Khandelwal University of Alabama, USA

Professor Konstantinos Kontis University of Glasgow

Dr Kyriakos Kourousis University of Limerick, Ireland

Dr Arnab Majumdar Imperial College, London

Professor Jim McGuirk Loughborough University

Professor Jack McNamara Ohio State University, USA

Dr Richard Markiewicz DSTL

Professor Pierangelo Masarati University of Milan, Italy Professor Pericles Pilidis Cranfield University

Professor Ning Qin University of Sheffield

Professor Jason Ralph University of Liverpool

Dr G Satheesh Reddy MoD, India

Professor Kenichi Rinoie University of Tokyo, Japan

Professor Ulrich Rist University of Stuttgart, Germany

> Dr Matthew Santer Imperial College, London

Dr Christiane Schmidt Linköping University, Sweden

Professor Marilyn Smith Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Professor Constantinos Soutis University of Manchester

Professor Anthony Waas University of Washington, USA

Aims and Scope

The aims and scope of *The Aeronautical Journal* are intended to reflect the objectives of the Royal Aeronautical Society as expressed in its Charter of Incorporation. Briefly, these are to encourage and foster the advancement of all aspects of aeronautical and space science. Thus the topics of *The Aeronautical Journal* include most of those covered by the various Specialist Groups of the Society. Topics covered in *The Aeronautical Journal* include most of those covered by the various Specialist Groups of the Society. Topics covered in *The Aeronautical Journal* include:

Aircraft design, aerodynamics, airworthiness and maintenance, air traffic Management, avionics and systems, composites, environmental issues, flight operations, flight simulation, fluid dynamics, fluid mechanics, guided flight, human factors, human powered flight, light aviation, propulsion, rotorcraft, safety, space, structures and materials, structural mechanics and UAVs.

Papers are solicited on all aspects of research, design and development, construction and operation of aircraft and space vehicles. Papers are also welcomed which review, comprehensively, the results of recent research developments in any of the above topics.

We recognise the inhibiting pressures of time and confidentiality, and acknowledge that many of the design testing, manufacturing and operational problems that industry has to solve contain important information for the whole aerospace community. Be assured that *The Aeronautical Journal* provides a renowned platform for refereeing and presenting your work to the broadest international audience. Papers will be considered for publication in *The Aeronautical Journal* if they meet the terms and conditions listed in our instructions for authors available at: http://journals.cambridge.org/AER. If these are not met, the Editor reserves the right to withdraw the paper without redress, which may be at any time up to publication.

Enquiries should be sent to: Wayne J Davis, RAeS Production Editor: aerojournal@aerosociety.com Subscription enquiries should be sent to: journals@cambridge.org Papers should be submitted at: www.edmgr.com/aeroj

Professor Christian Allen University of Bristol

Professor George Barakos University of Glasgow

Professor Cees Bil RMIT University, Australia

Professor Rene de Borst University of Sheffield

Professor Jonathan Cooper University of Bristol

Mr Peter Curtis Aircraft Research Association, Retired

> **Professor Laurent Dala** University of Northumbria

Professor Dimitris Drikakis University of Nicosia, Cyprus

Professor Brian Falzon Queen's University, Belfast

Professor Antonio Filippone University of Manchester

Professor Song Fu Tsinghua University, China

Professor Ed Galea Greenwich University

Professor Victor Giurgiutiu University of South Carolina, USA