From the Editor



2020 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the eleventh annual *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards competition. We thank all of the individuals, corporations, and institutions that submitted applications to this competition. Many of the submissions over the last decade, even if they did not win an award, were subsequently published as articles within these pages. Those articles provided descriptions of devices and methods useful to microscopists—a key objective of this publication.

As always, our team of judges, led by Tom Kelly, looked for innovations that will make new scientific investigations possible. The ten winning innovations below were selected based on their usefulness to the microscopy community and their probable importance for future research. The entries most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, easier, or entirely new methods of analysis using some type of microscope or microanalytical instrument.

The 2020 Microscopy Today Innovation Award winners are:

Boston University for development of the *Bond-Selective Transient Phase Microscope* **Confocal.nl** for development of the *Re-scan confocal upgrade for imaging deep into tissue* **DENSsolutions** for development of the *Stream System for liquid phase microscopy*

Euclid Techlabs, NIST, and Brookhaven National Lab for development of a *Retrofittable solution for ultra-fast electron microscopy*

Nanolive for development of the CX-A, a non-invasive live cell imaging method for continuous organelle monitoring

NIH-NIBIB for development of Software for accelerating iterative deconvolution and multiview fusion

ORNL, Univ. Illinois (Chicago), and Nion for development of *Isotope-Resolved Electron Energy* Loss Spectroscopy

Pohang University of Science and Technology and Opticho for development of *Label-free superresolution Localization Photoacoustic Microscopy*

Sigray, Inc. for development of *PrismaXRM*, an X-ray microscope that overcomes resolution limitations Carl Zeiss for development of the ORION NanoFab SIMS, a nano-FIB with analysis by mass spectrometry

An article within this issue provides descriptions of these innovations. Nomination applications for the next competition are available upon request (charles.lyman@lehigh.edu). The deadline for submission is March 22, 2021.

Charles E. Lyman, Senior Editor Bob Price, Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the Microscopy Today website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2020 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.

Microscopy

Editorial Staff

Robert L. Price, Editor-in-Chief bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu (803) 216-3824

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315

Beverly Maleeff, *Administrative Editor* bev@alumni.psu.edu

Charles E. Lyman, Senior Editor charles.lyman@lehigh.edu Phil Oshel, Senior Editor oshel1pe@cmich.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

John Shields, Columnist

johnshields59@gmail.com

Cameron Varano, Pioneers Editor cvarano@psu.edu

Richard Edelmann, Education Editor edelmare@miamioh.edu

Deb Kelly, Microscopy 101 Editor

debkelly@psu.edu

Rich Fiore, Product and Industry News Editor rich.fiore@thermofisher.com

Rich Martens, Calendar Editor atomman22@gmail.com

Nikolaus Cordes, Digital Content Editor nikolaus.cordes@inl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Innovation Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Robert Simmons, Chief Micrograph Judge robert.simmons@briarwillow.com

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360 Kelly Miller, Account Manager kmiller@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available.

Publisher

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

Editorial Board

Nasim Alem, Penn State University Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Bradley Thiel, SUNY Polytechnic Institute Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)