BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

VOL. 2 -- JUNE, 1957 No. 17

(Published September 1958)

CONTENTS

D (1077) by Defense	Trankant	Discola	Tren	rage
PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS (1957), by Professor DEPENDENCE OF SCIENCE ON ITS HISTORY				65
REVIEWS: The Science Museum: The First Hundred Year	8 .		••	74
Georgius Agricola (1494–1555)	••			74

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL 1957-58

PRESIDENT

Dr. E. ASHWORTH UNDERWOOD

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Dr. Angus Armitage Prof. HERBERT DINGLE Dr. H. HEYWOOD

Prof. E. G. R. TAYLOR Dr. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, M.B.E., F.R.S. Dr. G. J. WHITROW

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Ravensmead, Keston, Kent.

HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. H. R. CALVERT

EDITOR (Bulletin)

ASSISTANT EDITOR (P.S.G. Supplement)

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE

Dr. MARY HESSE

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

J. A. CHALDECOTT, Esq.

Prof. J. R. Partington, M.B.E. Prof. L. ROSENFELD

D. CHILTON, Esq. Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Dr. Dorothy Feyer Dr. MARY HESSE THOMAS MARTIN, Esq.

Dr. MARGARET ROWBOTTOM Dr. J. F. Scott L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

Dr. J. S. WILKIE

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN

Professor R. O. KAPP

VICE-CHAIRMEN

Prof. H. DINGLE Prof. J. H. WOODGER Prof. K. R. POPPER L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

Dr. G. J. WHITROW

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN

EDITOR (British Journal for the Philosophy of Science)

Dr. J. O. WISDOM

London School of Economics, London, W.C.2

ASSISTANT EDITOR

R. F. J. WITHERS, Esq.

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Dr. M. B. HESSE

Dr. A. W. STONIER
Dr. W. MAYS (representing Northern Branch)

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £3 3s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year. Members of the Society receive Annals of Science and the Society's Bulletin.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the Group may obtain the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science for the reduced annual subscription of £1 2s. 0d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.