Directors.—Division No. 1, Mr. Arthur Gibson, Entomological Branch, Dept. of Agriculture, Ottawa; Division No. 2, Mr. C. E. Grant, Orillia; Division No. 3, Dr. A. Cosens, Parkdale Collegiate Institute, Toronto; Division No. 4, Mr. F. J. A. Morris, Peterborough; Division No. 5, Mr. J. W. Noble, Essex, Ont.; Division No. 6, Mr. W. A. Ross, Vineland Station, Ont.

Delegate to the Royal Society of Canada.—Mr. F. J. A. Morris, Peterborough, Ont.

By kind permission of the College authorities the members were provided with lunch each day in the new Dining Hall; this proved a great saving of time, and also an agreeable opportunity for social intercourse.

DR. L. O. HOWARD.

To Dr. L. O. Howard, Chief of the Bureau of Entomology at Washington, we offer our hearty congratulations on his election to membership in the National Academy of Sciences of the United States. This is regarded as the highest honour that can be bestowed on any scientific man in North America. As stated by Mr. E. A. Schwarz in a recent issue of the Proceedings of the Entomological Society of Washington, this honour has been well earned by Dr. Howard. "He has done a good deal of meritorious work in systematic and bionomic entomology; he has published many important works on economic entomology, but above all, he is now, and has for many years been the efficient chief and leader of the Bureau of Entomology, and as such has acquired a world-wide and deserved reputation. Under the enlightened and liberal administration of Dr. Howard, the growth of the Bureau of Entomology has been really marvellous. It has become a model for the many similar, though much smaller, institutions that have been established of late years in many countries."

"Since the organization of the Academy the following entomologists have been elected members: Dr. John L Leconte, Dr. A. S. Packard, Mr. Samuel H. Scudder, Prof. W. M. Wheeler in 1912, and now Dr. Howard." The three former are no longer living, and entomology is thus represented by the two latter only.