NEWS AND NOTES

1961 ANNUAL MEETING AND SLATE OF OFFICERS FOR 1961–1962

The 1961 Annual Meeting of the Association will be held September 6-9, at the Sheraton-Jefferson Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri. Professor Wallace S. Sayre, of Columbia University, is Chairman of the Program Committee.

At the Annual Business Meeting the Nominating Committee (comprised of Hugh Elsbree, Chairman; Ethan P. Allen; Dayton D. McKean; William W. Marvel; J. Roland Pennock; and Lucian W. Pye) will propose the following officers for 1961-62: President-elect, Carl J. Friedrich (Harvard University); Vice-Presidents, Gabriel A. Almond (Yale University); C. Herman Pritchett (University of Chicago); Dwight Waldo (University of California); Secretary, Marian Irish (Florida State University); Treasurer, Max M. Kampelman (Washington, D.C.); Members of the Council for two years, Robert E. Ward (University of Michigan); Leo C. Riethmayer (University of Colorado); Lester G. Seligman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem); Sigmund Neumann (Wesleyan University); John Hallowell (Duke University); Bryce Wood (Social Science Research Council); Vernon Van Dyke (State University of Iowa); Alfred deGrazia (New York University).

PROGRAM: 1962 MEETINGS

The Program Committee for the annual meetings of the Association to be held in Washington, D. C., in September 1962 has been appointed, as follows: Byrum Carter, Indiana University, Chairman; David Smith, Swarthmore College, Political and Constitutional Theory; Vincent Ostrom, University of California (Los Angeles), Public Administration; James Prothro, Florida State University, American Political and Constitutional Theory; James Robinson, Northwestern University, Political Parties; Ethan Allen, Kansas University, State and Local Government; Vernon Van Dyke, State University of Iowa, International Politics; Lucian Pye, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Comparative Government; Charles Clapp, Brookings Institution, National Government; Howard Penniman, Georgetown University, Special Graduate Student Seminars. Anyone having program suggestions is invited to send them to the Chairman or an appropriate member, not later than October, 1961.

PROFESSIONAL CONFERENCES

The Fifth Annual Conference of the District of Columbia Political Science Association was held on December 3, 1960, at Catholic University of America. The principal speakers of the conference, addressing themselves to various aspects of the "National Purposes and Policies of the 1960's" were as follows: Laurin L. Henry, Brookings Institution; Leon H. Keyserling, formerly of the Council of Economic Advisers; Kenneth Mansfield, staff director of Senate Subcommittee on

National Policy Machinery; William Y. Elliot, Harvard University; Berl Bernhard, Commission on Civil Rights; Richard Scammon, Governmental Affairs Institute; and W. Howard Wriggins, Library of Congress.

New Association officers were elected at the business meeting following the conference. They are: Roger Hilsman, Department of State, president; Chester B. Earle, American University, first vice president; Vincent Rock, Office of Civil and Defense Mobilization, second vice President; Howard Shuman, assistant to Senator Douglas, and Stephen Horn, assistant to Senator Kuchel, members of the Executive Council. H. Field Haviland, Jr., Brookings Institution continued as member of the Council. The Council appointed David W. Tarr, Library of Congress, as secretary-treasurer.

Administrators, planners, political scientists and sociologists from nine countries of South Asia met at the Indian Institute of Public Administration in New Delhi, 14 to 20 December, to discuss public administration problems of new and rapidly growing towns in the region. The seminar was sponsored by the United Nations and UNESCO which sent consultants from Poland, the United Kingdom and the U.S. A. to contribute to the debates. The Seminar was opened by Prime Minister Nehru, who recalled Henry George's "Progress and Poverty" as a useful proposal to control land speculation.

The Joint Directors of the seminar were Professor V. K. N. Menon, Director, Indian Institute of Public Administration, Indraparstha Estate, Ring Road, New Delhi, India and Mr. P. R. Nayak, then Commissioner, Delhi Municipal Corporation. Copies of the documents submitted to the seminar may be obtained from Prof. Menon. The Asian countries represented in the seminar were Ceylon, India, Indonesia, Japan, Pakistan, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. The consultants were Mrs. Elizabeth Layton, Housing Economist, U. K., Professor Julius Gorynski, Vice-Minister of Communal Affairs, Poland and Charles S. Ascher, Institute of Public Administration, U. S. A.

The International Institute of Administrative Sciences will convene a Round Table in Lisbon, Portugal, 11–16 September, 1961. Three themes will be debated: Experience with Technical Assistance (for which G. Wm. Lawson of ICA has prepared the U. S. report); Government Organization for Economic Development (for which a U. S. report has been prepared by Gerhard Colm of the National Planning Association and Harvey S. Perloff of Resources for the Future, Inc., and a report on Puerto Rico by Martin Clapp); and Official Publications as an element of Public Relations of the Administrator. Further details about participation may be obtained from Robert

J. M. Matteson, American Society for Public Administration, 6042 South Kimbark Avenue, Chicago 37, Illinois.

The 1st General Assembly of the Eastern Regional Organization for Public Administration took place in Manila 5-10 December, 1960. The Assembly attracted more than 80 delegates and observers from 12 Asian countries and international governmental and non-governmental organizations. The organizing secretary, Dr. Carlos P. Ramos, Director of the Philippines Institute of Public Administration, was able to announce on the opening day the formal entrance of Japan as the fifth State member so that under the Provisional Constitution EROPA came into being as a duly organized international body. The other State Members are Australia, Republic of China, Philippines and the Republic of Vietnam. The delegate of Thailand announced at Manila that the Council of Ministers of the Government of Thailand had decided on the adherence of Thailand as a State Member.

Group members of the EROPA include the Indian Institute of Public Administration, the Indonesian Institute of National Administration, the University of Hong Kong, the Korean Association of Public Administration, the Vietnamese Association for Administrative Research and several professional societies in the Philippines.

The theme of the 1st General Assembly was "Strengthening Local Administration for Economic and Social Development." Three working groups discussed papers submitted by rapporteurs: "Central Services to Local Government": Professor Prajudi Atmosudirjo, Indonesia; "Problems of Local Autonomy": Dr. Franklin Chi Ch'ing Yao, Republic of China; "Government Administration of Rural Development": Dean Dongwon Kim, Republic of Korea.

The Assembly elected an executive council of seven. Five of these represent State Members: Republic of China, Dr. Franklin Chi Ch'ing Yao; Philippines, Hon. Serafin Salvador; Republic of Vietnam, Rector Vu Quoc Thong. For Australia and Japan Council Members are to be appointed by the several governments. Group members represented on the Executive Council are the Indian Institute of Public Administration, Prof. V. K. N. Menon and Indonesian National Institute of Administration, Prof. Prajudi Atmosudirjo.

OTHER ACTIVITIES

Paul C. Bartholomew, professor of political science at the University of Notre Dame, was visiting lecturer during the winter and spring quarters, 1961, at University College, University of Chicago,

James S. Coleman, Russell Fitzgibbon, and