## GARY GUTTING

- [9] Hempel, C. G. Philosophy of Natural Science. Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey: Prentice-Hall, 1966.
- [10] Hesse, M. Models and Analogies in Science. London: 1963.
- [11] Holton, G. "The Origins of the Special Theory of Relativity." American Journal of Physics 28 (1960).
- [12] Holton, G. "Einstein, Michelson, and the 'Crucial' Experiment." Isis 60 (1969).
- [13] Keswani, G. H. "Origin and Concept of Relativity." British Journal for the Philosophy of Science 15 (1965).
- [14] Körner, S. Conceptual Thinking. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 1955.
- [15] Kuhn, T. The Structure of Scientific Revolutions. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1962.
- [16] Polanyi, M. Personal Knowledge. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1958.
- [17] Polanyi, M. "Notes on Professor Grünbaum's Observations." Current Issues in the Philosophy of Science. Edited by H. Feigl and G. Maxwell. New York: Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1961.
- [18] Rosenthal-Schneider, I. "Presuppositions and Anticipations in Einstein's Physics." *Albert Einsein: Philosopher - Scientist*. Edited by P. A. Schilpp. New York: Harper and Row, 1959.
- [19] Rudner, R. et. al. "Panel Discussion of Simplicity of Scientific Theories." Philosophy of Science 28 (1961): 109-171.
- [20] Wertheimer, M. Productive Thinking. Enlarged edition. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1959.

## ANNOUNCEMENT

[The following is part of a memorandum by the Secretary of the Association.]

## PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

## Elections – 1971

TO: Members of the Governing Board and Nominees FROM: Peter D. Asquith, Secretary-Treasurer

Office of Vice-President	Elected	Mary B. Hesse
Governing Board	Elected	Mario A. Bunge
		Ian Hacking

The Ballots were counted by Miss Jeanne Norcross, Editorial Assistant to the Philosophy of Science Association, on January 16, 1972.

On behalf of the Association, I wish to express thanks to all nominees for having indicated their willingness to be of service to the Association. The services provided to the Association by those retiring from the Governing Board, J. J. C. Smart, Hakan Tornebohm, and Israel Scheffler, are appreciated.

68