To meet this type of problem, spokesmen for such study groups should write to the Program Chairman, sketching the kind of program plans they envisage. Often it will be possible to pass such correspondence to one of the section chairmen, who will be able to accommodate them within the plans he has for a set of panels. In other cases, it may be possible to fix a time outside the regular panel sequence when such groups of "likeminded" scholars can meet.

### **Black Graduate Fellowships**

The Association has announced twenty-five winners in the competition for the 1971-72 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include five Fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1971-72 to attend the university of their choice and twenty honorary fellows. The honorary fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

### **Funded Black Graduate Fellows**

- James B. Eaglin, Grambling College
- Creighton W. Lee, Baldwin-Wallace College
- Georgia A. Persons, Southern University
- Jules S. Trapp, Howard University

Donald L. Tryman, California Polytechnical State College

## **Honorary APSA Black Graduate Fellows**

- Ernest H. Adams, New York University
- James Bailey, San Jose State College

Jan L. Batiste, University of Oregon

Carole A. Belk, Howard University

Charles E. Bell, Antioch College

Camille E. Brewer, Lincoln University

Carolyn S. Currie, Grambling College

Milton C. Davis, Tuskegee Institute

Elizabeth L. Ellis, Florida A & M University

Helen L. Forrester, Long Island University

Sheila F. Harmon, Southern University

Murel M. Jones, David Lipscomb College

Johnny Lawton, University of California, Riverside Earl R. Niles, Brandeis University Michael C. Rogers, University of Nice Mary Sapp, Florida A & M University Carolyn A. Stamps, Tougaloo College Edward Thompson, University of Arizona Jacqueline M. Washington, Howard University Shirley M. Washington, Howard University

### **Congressional Fellowship Program**

The Association has announced 16 winners in the national competition for the 1971-72 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—eight political scientists and eight journalists—will come to the Nation's Capitol for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The Program is financed by a Ford Foundation grant, and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants for the 1971-72 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a six-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about January 1, 1972. The Program ends August 15, 1972.

The 16 winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

# Political Scientists

**Charles S. Bullock,** 28, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Georgia.