NEW APPOINTMENTS

Chad Hazlett, assistant professor, departments of political science and statistics, University of California, Los Angeles

Caitlin Jewitt, assistant professor, department of political science, college of liberal arts and human sciences, Virginia Tech

Rohan Kalyan, assistant professor, department of political science, college of liberal arts and human sciences, Virginia Tech

Davide Panagia, associate professor of political science and co-editor of the journal *Theory & Event*, University of California, Los Angeles

Matthew Pietryka, assistant professor, department of political science, Florida State University

Melivin L. Rogers, associate professor of political science and African American studies, University of California, Los Angeles

Inken von Borzyskowski, assistant professor, department of political science, Florida State University

AWARDS

Eric Coleman, assistant professor of political science, Florida State University, was awarded an Erasmus Mundus Fellowship to serve as a Master of International Development in Berlin during the summer of 2014.

Josh Kertzer, Ohio State University PhD graduate (August 2013), has been honored with multiple dissertation awards, including the APSA's 2014 Helen Dwight Reid Award for best dissertation in international relations, law, and politics; the 2014 Kenneth N. Waltz award for best dissertation in the field of international security and arms control; and the 2014 Walter Isard award from the Peace Science Society.

Dale L. Smith, former professor of political science, Florida State University, named Paul Piccard Professor of Political Science.

ACTIVITIES

Lonce Sandy-Bailey, assistant professor of political science, Shippensburg University received a Fulbright to travel to Ovidius University in Romania.

Brian Schaffner, chair of the department of political science and director of the UMass Poll, University of Massachusetts, awarded an NSF grant to create large, multi-year election panel survey.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Elects 2014 Members

Last year, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced the election of 204 new members. They include some of the world's most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders.

The new class was inducted at a ceremony on October 11, 2014, at the Academy's head-quarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The list of the 204 new members is located at https://www.amacad.org/members.

In addition to the APSA members noted in the October issue of PS, we recognize these additional awardees.

Graham Allison is director of the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs and Douglas Dillon Professor of Government at Harvard's John F. Kennedy School of Government. As "Founding Dean" of the modern Kennedy School, under his



leadership, from 1977 to 1989, a small, undefined program grew twenty-fold to become a major professional school of public policy and government. Allison

has served as Special Advisor to the Secretary of Defense under President Reagan and as Assistant Secretary of Defense for Policy and Plans under President Clinton, where he coordinated US Department of Defense strategy and policy toward Russia, Ukraine, and the other states of the former Soviet Union. He has the sole distinction of having twice been awarded the Department of Defense's highest civilian award, the Distinguished Public Service Medal, first by Secretary Caspar Weinberger and second by Secretary Bill Perry. He served as a member of the Defense Policy Board for Secretaries Weinberger, Carlucci, Cheney, Aspin, Perry, and Cohen.

Allison's first book, *Essence of Decision: Explaining the Cuban Missile Crisis* (1971), was released in an updated and revised second edition (1999) and ranks among the all-time bestsellers with more than 450,000 copies

in print. His latest book (2013), *Lee Kuan Yew: The Grand Master's Insights on China, the United States, and the World* (co-authored with Robert Blackwill), has been a bestseller in the US and abroad. His previous book, *Nuclear Terrorism: The Ultimate Preventable Catastrophe*, is now in its third printing and was selected by the *New York Times* as one of the "100 most notable books of 2004."

James S. Fishkin holds the Janet M. Peck Chair in International Communication at Stanford University where he is professor of communication and professor of political science (by courtesy). He is also direc-

tor of Stanford's Center for Deliberative Democracy and chair of the department of communication. Fishkin received his BA from Yale and holds a PhD in political science



from Yale as well as a second PhD in philosophy from Cambridge. He is the author of a number of books including When the People Speak: Deliberative Democracy and Public Consultation (Oxford University Press, 2009). His previous books include Democracy and Deliberation: New Directions for Democratic Reform (Yale University Press, 1991), The Dialogue of Justice (Yale University Press, 1992), The Voice of the People: Public Opinion and Democracy (Yale University Press, 1995). With Bruce Ackerman he is co-author of Deliberation Day (Yale University Press, 2004). With Peter Laslett he is also co-editor of volumes five, six, and seven of the Philosophy, Politics and Society series. Fishkin has been a Visiting Fellow Commoner at Trinity College, Cambridge as well as a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford, a Fellow of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, and a Guggenheim Fellow.

He is best known for developing Deliberative Polling®, a method of public consultation that has been used in more than 20 countries to get informed and representative public input on policy and electoral issues.