# ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY

Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain

Volume 37: 1994

### SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion is presented annually to authors of outstanding contributions to the literature of architectural history. Recipients of the award have been:

1959: H. M. COLVIN	1976: Anthony Blunt
1960: John Summerson	1977: Andrew Saint
1961: Kerry Downes	1978: PETER SMITH
1962: John Fleming	1979: TED RUDDOCK
1963: Dorothy Stroud	1980: Allan Braham
1964: F. H. W. SHEPPARD	1981: HOWARD COLVIN
1965: H. M. & JOAN TAYLOR	1982: PETER THORNTON
1966: Nikolaus Pevsner	1983: Maurice Craig
1967: Mark Girouard	1984: William Curtis
1968: Christopher Hussey	1985: JILL LEVER
1969: PETER COLLINS	1986: DAVID BROWNLEE
1970: А. Н. Сомме &	1987: John Harvey
D. M. Walker	1988: ROGER STALLEY
1971: John Harris	1989: Andrew Saint
1972: HERMIONE HOBHOUSE	1990: Charles Saumarez Smith
1973: Mark Girouard	1991: CHRISTOPHER WILSON
1974: J. Mordaunt Crook &	1992: Eileen Harris & Nicholas Savage
M. H. Port	1993: John Allan

The Society's Essay Medal is presented annually to the winner of the Society's essay medal competition. The regulations are available from the Honorary Secretary. Recipients of the medal have been:

1982: GORDON HIGGOTT
1983: NEIL JACKSON
1984: JOSEPH SHARPLES
1985: No award was made
1986: LAURA JACOBUS
1987: TIM MOWL
1988: GILES WORSLEY
1989: No award was made
1990: No award was made
1991: MICHAEL HALL
1992: FRANK SALMON
1993: CATHERINE STEEVES

1975: DAVID WATKIN

# ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain

Volume 37: 1994

## SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

Founded 1956: incorporated 1964

The Society exists to encourage an interest in the history of architecture, to provide opportunities for the exchange and discussion of ideas related to this subject and to publish, in its journal, Architectural History, significant source material and the results of original research.

ELECTED OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 1993-94

President: Professor Alistair Rowan PhD FRSE

Past President: John Newman MA FSA

Chairman: Maurice Howard MA PhD

Honorary Secretary: Sally Jeffery BA PhD

Honorary Treasurer: Frank Kelsall MA FSA

Honorary Conference Secretary: Claire Gapper BA MA

Honorary Events Secretary: Richard Morrice BA PhD

Executive Committee

John Bold BA PhD FSA Elain Harwood BA Grad. Dip(Cons) AA

Colin Cunningham MA PhD FSA Alison Maguire BA PhD

Roger Harper MA Dip. Arch. PhD RIBA FRSA Deborah Mays MA PhD FSA(Scot)

Bankers: Barclays Bank plc, University Branch, 137 Oxford Road, Manchester

MI 7EA

HONORARY EDITOR

Christine Stevenson PhD

All correspondence concerning the Society except applications for membership should be addressed to:

Sally Jeffery, 23B Home Park Road, Wimbledon Park, London SW19 7HP

Applications for membership should be sent to: Laurence Kinney, Brandon Mead, 9 Old Park Lane, Farnham, Surrey GU9 OAJ

Correspondence concerning the Society's publications should be addressed to:

Christine Stevenson, Department of History of Art, The University, Blandford Lodge, Whiteknights, PO Box 217, Reading RG6 2AH

Books for review in the Society's Newsletter should be sent to:

Christopher Wakeling, Department of Adult Education, University of Keele, Keele, Staffordshire, ST5 5BG

Copyright © 1994 ISSN: 0066–622X

Printed by W. S. Maney and Son Ltd, Hudson Road, Leeds LS9 7DL

Set in Linotron Bembo

# **CONTENTS**

BUILDING THE HOUSE OF THE LORD: THE MONASTIC CHURCH OF S. MARIA DELLA CARITÀ, VENICE 1441 TO 1454	
by Richard Goy	I
UTOPIA AND THE WELL-ORDERED FORTRESS: J. M. VON SCHWALBACH'S TOWN PLANS OF 1635	
by Michael J. Lewis	24
SIR CHRISTOPHER WREN, EDWARD WOODROFFE, J. H. MANSART, AND ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY	
by Kerry Downes	37
MAURICE–LOUIS JOLIVET'S DRAWINGS AT WEST WYCOMBE PARK by Anne Purchas	68
de architectura': an irish eighteenth-century gloss by Christine Casey	80
first principles and ancient errors: soane at dulwich by Andrew Ballantyne	96
c. r. cockerell's 'architectural progress of the bank of england' by Daniel Abramson	112
PRACTICALITY VERSUS PRESERVATION: ALFRED WATERHOUSE AND THE CAMBRIDGE COLLEGES	
by Colin Cunningham	130
george gilbert scott, jun., and king's college chapel by Gavin Stamp	153
LETTERS FROM PETER BEHRENS TO P. MORTON SHAND, 1932–1938 by Alan Windsor	165
	3

Publication of Dr Abramson's article has been partly funded by the Governor and Company of the Bank of England, to mark the Bank's 300th anniversary