and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1980-81 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, Johnson Health Policy Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three-week orientation period. They will begin working in congressional offices of their choice about December 1, 1980. The Program ends August 15, 1981.

The seven winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

1980-81 Congressional Fellows

Political Scientists

Theodore J. Eismeier, associate professor, Hamilton College

Bruce A. Ray, assistant professor, Northern Illinois University

Steven S. Smith, assistant professor, George Washington University

Wallace Earl Walker, associate professor, United States Military Academy

Journalists

Deborah K. Cline, city editor, *The Evening Sentinel*, Carlisle, Pennsylvania

Carol Marian Matlack, reporter, Arkansas Gazette

Joan Verdon, reporter, *The Grand Rapids Press*Douglas C. Waller, staff writer, *The Charlotte News*

Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

The Association will again have a small program to provide limited assistance to visiting foreign national political scientists and advanced graduate students currently in the United States wishing to attend the 1980 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. For details on the program and application forms write to the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

1980 Annual Business Meeting

1980 Rules for the Annual Business Meeting and Association Elections

The following rules proposed by the Association's Rules Committee were presented to the

Council for approval at its May 2 meeting.

1. Annual Business Meeting: Attendance and Participation

The right "to attend and to participate in the Annual Business Meeting of the Association" is constitutionally accorded "all members, upon payment of such registration fees as the Council may approve." (Art. III, sec. 7)

- 1.1 Attendance at the Annual Business Meeting shall be restricted to members of the Association who have paid the approved registration fee and to registered representatives of the media. Participation in the Annual Business Meeting shall be restricted to members of the Association who have paid the approved registration fee.
- 1.2 Members upon registration shall be issued nontransferable badges readily distinguishable from badges issued nonmember registrants and representatives of the media.
- 1.3 The Registration Desk shall be open (in addition to the normal registration hours) at least during the first hour of the Annual Business Meeting or, if the Meeting is held in separate time periods, during the first hour of each such meeting.
- 1.4 A prospective candidate for elective office of the Association must become a dues-paying member upon filing for office.
- 1.5 One hundred members are necessary for a quorum (as required by Article VII, Section 1 of the Constitution).

2. Conduct of the Annual Business Meeting

- 2.1 The agenda of each Annual Business meeting will be: nomination and election of officers, Constitutional amendments, resolutions, and other business.
- 2.2 The Council shall prepare and publish a full agenda for each Annual Business Meeting, including the texts of all proposed amendments and resolutions, with statements of the Council's recommendation on each, such full agenda to be made available to members at the beginning of the Annual Business Meeting.
- 2.3 On any proposed constitutional amendment or resolution, the first signer of a proposed amendment or resolution (or signer's designee) shall be recognized as the first speaker on that amendment or resolution and shall be allotted a maximum of five minutes.
- 2.4 In accordance with the Council's constitutional authority to make recommendations on all proposed amendments and resolutions (Art. VIII; Art. IX, sec. 1), the second speaker on any proposed constitutional amendment or resolution not sponsored by the Council shall be a member designated by the Council to present its views. That member shall also be allotted a maximum of five minutes.
- 2.5 Each speaker after the first two speakers specified in Rules 2.3 and 2.4 shall be allotted a maximum of three minutes. The President shall