Funding is provided by the Walter and Phyllis Shorenstein Family in honor of their daughter, Joan Shorenstein Barone, a highly respected producer for CBS News who died in 1985 at a tragically early age.

Placement Service Set for Meeting

For job seekers, the first step in the academic job search begins with the Annual Meeting Placement Service. The Placement Service will be available at the 1988 Annual Meeting.

The Service allows employers to review the vitae of job applicants and to interview them at the Annual Meeting. Also, applicants can review the list of positions which are open in their respective fields and can apply for positions in which they are interested.

The Placement Service will be open from September I to September 4 and will be held in the International Ballroom (West) of the Washington Hilton.

To participate in the Service, APSA members are urged to register prior to the opening of the Annual Meeting. Placement registration forms are available in the back of this issue of PS and in the APSA's Personnel Service Newsletter.

APSA Offers Free Child Care at Annual Meeting

Child care services will be available without charge to Annual Meeting registrants in Washington from Thursday, September 1 through Sunday, September 4, at the Washington Hilton.

The hours will be 8:30 am to 10:00 pm from Thursday through Saturday. On Sunday the services will be available from 8:30 am to 12:30 pm. Snacks will be available for the children.

Members wishing further information on the 1988 Child Care Service and registration forms should write:

Child Care Coordinator

1527 New Hampshire Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20036

The service is offered by the Association in response to a request from the APSA's Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession.

Departmental Services Program Sponsors Workshop for Chairs

The APSA's Departmental Services Program will sponsor a workshop at the annual meeting for departmental chairs on "Faculty Development and Performance Appraisal." The workshop will be held Friday, September 2, at 10:45 a.m. at the Washington Hilton.

The discussion will be chaired by Frank Thompson, University of Georgia. Panelists include John Bailey, Georgetown University; Eric Davis, Middlebury College; Peter Eisinger, University of Wisconsin; and William Mishler, University of South Carolina.

Foreign Student Travel Grants

Please see "Research and Training Support" in this issue of PS for information on foreign student travel grants for 14th World Congress and 1988 APSA Annual Meeting.

Judith Shklar Nominated President-Elect

Judith N.Shklar, John Cowles Professor of Government at Harvard University, has been nominated to be president of APSA for 1989-90. A distinguished scholar of political thought and philosophy, Shklar was named a MacArthur Fellow in 1984.

In addition to Shklar, the 1988 Nominating Committee proposed the following slate for Association officers and Council members:

Vice-Presidents (1988-89): Murray Edelman, University of Wisconsin; Robert Jervis. Columbia University; Martin Shapiro, University of California, Berkeley.

Secretary (1988-89): Daniel J. Elazar, Temple University.

Council (1988-90): Christopher Achen, University of Chicago; Kathleen Frankovic, CBS News, New York City; Peter A. Gourevitch, University of California, San Diego; Ted R. Gurr, University of Colorado; Ronald Kahn, Oberlin College; Barbara J. Nelson, University of Minnesota; Adolph Reed, Jr., Yale University; Donald Searing, University of North Carolina.

Under APSA's constitution the preceding nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business Meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Ballots will be distributed within 30 days of the Annual Business Meeting by the executive director. They must be returned within 30 days following distribution.

The 1988 Annual Business Meeting rules are printed in the Gazette section of this issue of PS. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington office prior to Monday, August 29, 1988, or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are included in the Annual Business Meeting rules.

Members of the 1988 Nominating Committee are: Arlene Saxonhouse (chair), University of Michigan; Jennifer Hochschild, Princeton University; Herbert Jacob, Northwestern University; Samuel Popkin, University of California, San Diego; Glenn

Snyder, University of North Carolina; and Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Continuing Council members from September 1988-September 1989 are: President: Lucian W. Pye, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Treasurer: Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas. Council (1987-88): William I. Bacchus, Department of State; Donald Kinder, University of Michigan; Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret E. Scranton, University of Arkansas, Little Rock; Mary Shanley, Vassar College; Richard A. Watson, University of Missouri; and Aristide Zolberg, New School for Social Research.



HAROLD GOSNELL

Gosnell Is Longest Continuous APSA Member

Jean Walen
American Political Science Association

A check of Association membership records shows that the longest continuous

Spring 1988 315