1971 APSA Election Results

American Arbitration Association Report of 1971 APSA Election

Pursuant to a request from the American Political Science Association, hereinafter referred to as APSA, the American Arbitration Association, hereinafter referred to as the Administrator, agreed to conduct a mail ballot for the election of officers as well as a proposed constitutional amendment.

The election was conducted pursuant to and in accordance with the Election Rules of the Administrator.

Ballots were mailed by the Administrator to all eligible members of APSA on October 21, 1971. To be valid, ballots had to be postmarked no later than November 17, 1971.

The counting of the ballots took place by automatic data processing at Computer Software, Inc., 1600 Broadway, New York, N.Y. on November 23, 1971, under the supervision of the undersigned in the presence of an observer. The secrecy of the ballot was maintained at all times.

Seven Thousand Five Hundred and Fifty Two (7,552) ballots were received by the Administrator. Two Hundred and Nineteen (219) envelopes were void on the following basis:

- 71 No identification on envelope
- 47 No signature on return envelope
- 7 Issued to wrong person
- 94 Late postmark

The results are certified to be as follows:

PRESIDENT	
Richard A. Faik	3,035
Robert E. Ward	4,200
VICE PRESIDENT	
Theodore L. Becker	3,063
Robert E. Martin	4,056
Carlos Munoz	1,937
Clara Penniman	4,710
H. Mark Roelofs	2,277
Joseph Tanenhaus	4,214
SECRETARY	
Thomas R. Dye	4,138
Other*	2,931
TREASURER	
Charles J. Fox	2,258
Donald R. Matthews	4,873

MEMBER OF COUNCIL	
Christian Bay	5,591
Samuel D. Cook	4,113
Kenneth Dolbeare	3,106
Valerie A. Earle	4,147
Richard F. Fenno, Jr.	4,647
Dorothy Buckton James	2,648
Judson L. James	2,264
Robert O. Keohane	4,142
Samuel Krislov	4,234
Lewis Lipsitz	2,971
Gerhard Loewenberg	3,724
James F. Petras	2,222
Kenneth Prewitt	4,031
Raymond Rocco	1,495
Irene Tinker	2,952
CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT	
(Establishing an Administrative Committee)	
Accept	3,633
Reject	2,011

MARGARET U. CARLSON Election Director American Arbitration Association January 20, 1972

* The category "Other" and the figure listed were not on the official report of the American Arbitration Association, but were inserted by the National Office of APSA at the instruction of the APSA Council. The figure is the sum of votes received by Judith V. May and Judith Stiehm for the position of Secretary. This was done at the request of both candidates and as a result of a problem in the listing on the ballot of candidates for this position.

APSA Departmental Services Program

At its recent meeting the Council of the American Political Science Association approved the recommendation of the Committee of Department Chairmen that the Association substantially expand its services to political science faculty and students through the departments. The plan endorsed by the Council specifies that the Association provide a number of regular services to those departments that choose to join in return for a departmental fee.

The services to be provided initially were developed following a questionnaire to department chairmen, which elicited a favorable response from a large number of chairmen. Among the services anticipated are the following: a summary of an annual survey of departments; a list of all departments and chairmen; an annual guide to graduate programs in political science; a pamphlet on political science as a career (in multiple copies); a copy of the Biographical Directory and an annual supplement to it; personnel service newsletter (though the fee does not include the \$5 a head for new Ph.D.s that graduate departments are currently being asked to pay); information on federal programs and on grants; and periodic summaries of fellowships and internship programs for students.

In order to provide the financial resources necessary to provide such services on a continuing basis, the following schedule of fees was recommended by the Committee and approved by the Council: Departments of political science offering graduate work and having over 20 faculty members (full-time equivalents), \$150; Departments of political science offering graduate work and having 11-20 faculty members, \$100; departments of political science offering graduate work and having 10 or fewer faculty members, \$75; departments of political science offering only undergraduate work and having over 5 faculty members, \$50; and departments of political science offering only undergraduate work and having 5 or fewer faculty members, and departments in which political science is combined with other disciplines, \$25.

The fee will be on a fiscal year basis becoming effective July 1972 and extending to June 30, 1973. Invitations to departments to participate in the Departmental Services Program have been sent to over 1300 departments in which political science is taught.

The Committee of Department Chairmen's first publication, *A Guide to Graduate Study in Political Science, 1972,* has just been published by the Association and distributed to departments. Copies of the Guide are also available from the Association at \$2.50 each prepaid.

Members of the Committee of Department Chairmen are Malcolm E. Jewell, University of Kentucky (Chairman); Donald M. Freeman, University of West Florida; Jean Grossholtz, Mt. Holyoke College; Robert H. Horwitz, Kenyon College; Sol Lebovitz, Bryant College; Carroll R. McKibbin, University of Nebraska; Don C. Piper, University of Maryland; Charles Press, Michigan State University; Michael D. Reagan, University of California, Riverside; Peter P. Remec, Fordham University; and William P. Robinson, Sr., Norfolk State College.

Regional and State Political Science Associations

At the 1971 Annual Meeting, an open meeting was held of officers of the regional and state political science associations to discuss matters of common interest and to determine ways in which the national association could be of assistance to the regional and state groups. APSA officials Robert E. Lane, Heinz Eulau, and Evron M. Kirkpatrick attended the session. An Ad Hoc Committee on Regional and State Political Science Associations was established and Currin Shields, University of Arizona, and President of the Western Political Science Association, was selected to head the group.

PS is publishing an updated list of regional and state political science associations. Further information as well as additions or corrections to the list will be appreciated.

20 PS Winter 1972