## MRS reports election results for 2017

www.mrs.org/governance

Members of the Materials Research Society (MRS) have elected a vice president (who will serve as president in 2018) and five directors to join the 2017 MRS Board of Directors. In addition, the MRS Board of Directors has appointed the next MRS Secretary. The Board is composed of the officers and 12 to 21 directors, established by Board resolution.

The officers of the Society are the president (who serves as chair of the Board), the vice president (who is also the president-elect), the secretary, the treasurer (a position appointed by the Board of Directors), and the immediate past president. Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (\*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended August 30, 2016.

The Board of Directors is organized into the following governing committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational and Strategic Oversight, and Planning. Chairs and members of the committees are either designated by policy or are appointed by the president.

# ' MRS OFFICERS

2017 MRS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

#### President

Susan Trolier-McKinstry
The Pennsylvania State University

Immediate Past President Kristi S. Anseth

University of Colorado Boulder

Vice President (President-Elect)

\* Sean J. Hearne

Sandia National Laboratories

### Secretary

\* Eric A. Stach
Brookhaven National Laboratory

#### Treasurer

David J. Parrillo

The Dow Chemical Company

**Executive Director** 

Todd M. Osman

Materials Research Society

## Charles T. Black (2017) Brookhaven National Laboratory

Brookhaven National Laborator

\* Li-Chyong Chen (2019) National Taiwan University

Matt Copel (2018)
IBM Research Division

Paul S. Drzaic (2018) Apple, Inc.

\* Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines (2019)
Johns Hopkins University

Yury Gogotsi (2018) Drexel University

\* Claudia E. Gutierrez-Wing (2019) Instituto Nacional de Investigaciones Nucleares

Young-Chang Joo (2018) Seoul National University Karen L. Kavanagh (2017) Simon Fraser University

\* Lincoln J. Lauhon (2019) Northwestern University

Christine Ortiz (2017)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sabrina Sartori (2017) University of Oslo

Magaly Spector (2018)
The University of Texas at Dallas

\* Molly Stevens (2019) Imperial College London

Anke Weidenkaff (2017) University of Stuttgart

\*Newly elected.



The Materials Research Society is excited to introduce its new website... offering a fresh new look and benefits that include:

- Clean, clear design
- Streamlined, user-centric navigation
- Mobile friendly
- Improved site performance, even during heaviest usage periods
- Intuitive search
- Enhanced multimedia capabilities
- New and exciting personalization features

Visit today! mrs.org

