AMERICAN JOURNAL OF GERMANIC LINGUISTICS & LITERATURES

AJGLL

Society for Germanic Philology

SOCIETY FOR GERMANIC PHILOLOGY

Officers and Executive Committee for 1995
President, Joseph C. Salmons, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Vice-President, Thomas F. Shannon, University of California, Berkeley
Secretary/Treasurer, Robert B. Howell, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Executive Committee, the preceding and
Rosina Lippi-Green, University of Michigan (through 1995)
Edgar C. Polomé, University of Texas, Austin (through 1995)
Wilbur C. Benware, University of California, Davis (through 1995)
Evelyn S. Firchow, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (through 1995)
Mark L. Louden, University of Texas, Austin (through 1996)
Neil G. Jacobs, Ohio State University (through 1996)
Edward G. Fichtner, Queens College, CUNY (through 1997)
Garry W. Davis, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (through 1997)
Sarah M. B. Fagan, University of Iowa (through 1997)

Discussion Group for Germanic Philology,

Modern Language Association of America Gerald F. Carr, California State University, Sacramento (through 1996) Anna Grotans, Ohio State University (through 1997) James W. Marchand, University of Illinois, Urbana/Champaign (through 1998) Richard K. Seymour, University of Hawaii (through 1999)

Chair, AJGLL Editorial Committee Paul T. Roberge, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

The American Journal of Germanic Linguistics and Literatures is published semiannually by the Society for Germanic Philology.

Dues for personal memberships are \$25.00 per calendar year. Institutional subscriptions are \$40.00 per calendar year. Dues for student memberships (with proof of student status) and emeriti are \$15.00 per year.

Applications for membership, subscriptions, change-of-address notices, as well as requests for advertising space and permission to reprint from *AJGLL* should be directed to the Secretary of the Society: Prof. Robert B. Howell, Department of German, University of Wisconsin, 818 Van Hise Hall, Madison, WI 53706, USA.

Copyright © 1995 by the Society for Germanic Philology

Printed in the United States of America

ISSN: 1040-8207

The paper used in this publication meets the minimum requirements of the American National Standard for Information Sciences—Permanence of paper for Printed Library Materials.

ANSI Z39.48–1984

American Journal of GERMANIC LINGUISTICS and LITERATURES

Journal of the Society for Germanic Philology

Volume 7, number 2

Fall, 1995

Editorial Committee

Sarah M. B. Fagan, University of Iowa Evelyn S. Firchow, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Robert B. Howell, University of Wisconsin, Madison Paul T. Roberge, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Joseph C. Salmons, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Editorial Advisory Board

Daniel Brink, Arizona State University
James Cathey, University of Massachusetts
Michael Clyne, Monash University
Edward G. Fichtner, Queens College, CUNY
Peter Jorgensen, University of Georgia
Thomas Juntune, Michigan State University
Robert L. Kyes, University of Michigan
Anatoly Liberman, University of Minnesota, Twin Cites
Albert Lloyd, University of Pennsylvania
Donka Minkova, University of California, Los Angeles
Dieter Nerius, Universität Rostock
Paul Schach, University of Nebraska
Thomas F. Shannon, University of California, Berkeley
Joseph B. Voyles, University of Washington

Editorial Assistant: James P. Ziegler

Published by the Society for Germanic Philology