DIVISION II

SUN AND HELIOSPHERE

Division II provides a forum for astronomers studying a wide range of phenomena related to the structure, radiation and activity of the Sun, and its interaction with the Earth and the rest of the solar system.

PRESIDENT

Arnold O. Benz Inst Astronomie ETH Zentrum CH 8092 Zürich Switzerland Tel:+41 1 632 4223 Fax:+41 1 632 1205 Email:benz@astro.phys.ethz.ch

BOARD

Vice President Commission 12
Past President Division II
Vice President Commission 10
President Commission 12
President Commission 49
Vice President Commission 49

PARTICIPATING COMMISSIONS

COMMISSION 10:	SOLAR ACTIVITY
COMMISSION 12:	SOLAR RADIATION AND STRUCTURE
COMMISSION 49:	INTERPLANETARY PLASMA AND HELIOSPHERE

DIVISION II: THE SUN AND HELIOSPHERE (SOLEIL ET HELIOSPHERE)

PRESIDENT: Peter Foukal BOARD: G. Ai, A. Benz, O. Engvold, S. Solanki, M. Vandas, F. Verheest

Commission 10: Solar Activity Commission 12: Solar Radiation and Structure Commission 49: Interplanetary Plasma and Heliosphere

The business meeting of Division II was held over lunch break on Thursday, August 10, during the first week of the Manchester General Assembly. The attendance of over 30 was up to the standard of past meetings held at the GA's in the Hague and in Kyoto.

The first agenda item was the President's report, by Peter Foukal. He summarized the Division's main activities and accomplishments during the past three years. The first was sponsorship of several meetings, namely; i) the IAU Colloquium 179 on "Cyclical Evolution of Solar Magnetic Fields" held in Kodaikanal, India, Dec 13-16, 1999, and the co-sponsored Symposium 195 on "Highly Energetic Physical Processes from Astrophysical Plasmas", Bozeman, Montana, USA, July 6-10, 1999; ii) the organization of the Symposium 203 on "Recent Insights into the Physics of the Sun and Heliosphere," and the Joint Discussion Number 6 on "Space Weather" both held in August 2000 at the Manchester General Assembly; iii) co-sponsorship proposals for future meetings, including IAU Symposium 210 on Modeling of Stellar Atmospheres to be held in Uppsala, Sweden in June 2002.

Another activity was providing contributions to the Reports on Astronomy by each of the Division II Commissions 10, 12, and 49, and also a combined report for the Division overall. After consultation with the various Commission organizing committees, the reports for Comms 10 and 49 were written in the traditional longer format, while the Comm 12 and Divisional reports were presented in the newer abbreviated format offered by the IAU.

The beginnings of a Division II Web Site have been put in place, and it would be desirable to extend this in the next triennium. A Nomenclature Working Group originally envisioned by O. Engvold was put in place during this past year, chaired by E. Cliver (USA). The concept is to provide an ongoing, authoritative review of solar/interplanetary terms, which presently seem to have conflicting or overlapping meanings in the literature. Examples are: "magnetic clouds" versus "flux ropes," or "reconnection" versus "disconnection".

The intention is to produce 3–4 short (1000-1500 word) essays per year, to be published in the weekly newspaper of the American Geophysical Union "Eos", electronically in the Solar Physics Division newsletter, and also perhaps in "Solar Physics" journal. The first essay, by L. Burlaga, has already been drafted.

Present membership of the working group, besides E. Cliver, are H. Cane (USA), T. Kosugi (Japan), S. Martin (USA), R. Schwenn (Germany), and J.P. Bougueret (France). The addition of another photospheric/chromospheric expert was recommended at our meeting.

Next, a brief report was presented by J. Pasachoff on the activities of the Eclipse Working Group. He described the successful work at the 1999 eclipse in Europe and Asia, and plans for future eclipses over the next few years.

The Working group on Eclipses consists of long-term members from the US, Canada, Japan, Slovakia, Russia, Belgium, and India, as well as members appointed for three-year terms from countries relevant to the total solar eclipses in that period. Among its duties are

DIVISION II

coordinating professional eclipse expeditions, including working years in advance to have National Eclipse Coordinators appointed in relevant countries, and trying to arrange for duty-free temporary importation of scientific equipment for the eclipse period.

The Working Group Web site, www.williams.edu/astronomy/IAU_eclipses, which is linked to the main IAU site, includes descriptions of current expeditions, reports on past expeditions, links to maps and tables, and information on how to observe eclipses safely, and on its educational function.

The Vice President of Comm 10, A. Benz, then described the situation with the Quarterly Bulletins of Solar Activity, presently administered by K. Shibasaki at Nobeyama Radio Observatory, in Japan. He summarized a comprehensive report provided by Dr. Shibasaki, in which he suggests that the QBSA's purpose would be achieved more cost-effectively by moving to electronic publication.

It was decided to pursue this suggestion, and also determine why the funds allotted for QBSA activities by ICSU/FAGS were not paid to Nobeyama Observatory in 1999. It was suggested that the importance of QBSA should be reviewed by Division II in the broader picture of available data on solar activity (such as the Solar Geophysical Data publication by the World Data Center). The meeting was also informed by F. Clette that the mission of the Sunspot Index Data Center had been broadened, and its name had been changed to reflect this, to "Solar Influences Data Center" thus still SIDC.

The President of Comm 10, Prof. G. Ai, then presented a proposal for a joint COSPAR/IAU meeting on Solar-Terrestrial Research, to be held in Beijing in September 2001.

Following IAU custom, the names of Division II members deceased since the Kyoto GA, were read and a moment of silence was observed. These members were: A. Abrami, D. Beard, G. Brueckner, E. Chvojkova, E. Dyer, O. Elgarøy, G. Elwert, J. Evans, J. Kaplan, S. Koyama, M. Marik, F. Orrall, A. Schadee, Y. Suzuki, and C. Zwaan.

The names of new members proposed for Comm 12 (eleven names) and Comm 49 (seven names) were presented.

The slate of officers proposed for Comms 10, 12, 49, and Division II, was posted for comment. These are for Comm 10: A. Benz (President), D. Melrose, (VP); for Comm 12: S. Solanki (President), T. Bogdan (VP); for Comm 49: M. Vandas (President), and D. Webb (VP). The Division II President nominee was A. Benz.

The meeting was adjourned.

Peter Foukal President of the Division

Editorial Note: Division II held only the above-described session, and there were no Commission business sessions. Thus there are no reports from Commissions 10, 12 or 49.