## **Editorial**

The *Journal* has been busier than ever this year. We received 614 papers and published 260. The website has had 65 864 hits since April 1998.

The 1998 JLO Travelling Fellowship was awarded jointly to Mr V Nandapalan to visit Professor Mirko Tos in Copenhagen and to Mr A S Carney to study Facioplastic Surgery and Free Tissue Transfer in New York. The 1998/99 JLO Visiting Professor Robert Ossoff from Vandebilt University Medical Centre, Nashville, Tennessee, will visit the UK in May 1999 and will deliver lectures in Bristol and Nottingham and at the Royal Society of Medicine and Gray's Inn Road.

We are grateful to the CME Committee of the British Association of Otolaryngologists – Head and Neck Surgeons for granting 10 Distance Learning CME points for completion of our CME Questions which you will find in this issue of the *Journal*. We look forward to issuing many certificates in February 1999.

This year each issue has been enhanced by the Molecular Biology in Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Series which has been guest edited by Mr Michael Kuo. It has been very popular and we are very grateful to him for arranging it.

Sadly Henry Grant will be leaving the Assistant Editors after a long time in post as he has recently taken on an even more onerous post as a manager of the Royal National Throat, Nose and Ear Hospital, London. We are grateful to him for all the time he has given the *Journal*.

During the year we have welcomed Saumil Merchant, Otologist at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Boston as an Assistant Editor and Ketan Shah and Adrian Warfield who join us as Advisers in Pathology. We would like to thank all the Assistant Editors, Pathology, Audiology, Radiology and Statistics Advisers for their immense amount of hard work.

The following have kindly acted as referees during 1998. We are grateful to them for the time they have given to the *Journal*.

Gillian Adams
D Albert
D Baguley
G Bates
Professor B A Bell

Professor B A Bell J Bennett L Berger

M Bridger G Brookes A E Brown

J Boultbee

P Bull Professor R Cartwright Elfy Chevretton

A Clifton Professor R Coles

C Croft S A Cudlip D D'Cruz A Drake-Lee

A Drake-Le C East P Ellis
A Freeland
K Gibbin
J Graham
J Hibbert

Professor S G Hillier Professor P Horton

J Leigh

Susanna Leighton Professor M Masey

R Maw J McGlashen K McKenzie G O'Donoghue

G O'Donoghue A J Parker Jean Pringle A Prior G Robins James Robinson

John Robinson G E Rose J Rowe-Jones

S Saeed C Saintonge Glenis Scadding Susan Snashall Professor P Speight Professor N Stafford

N Tolley
J Topham
P Trend

K A A S Warnakulasuriya

J Watkinson R Weir S Whitaker

Professor Janet Wilson Elizabeth Wong Professor A Wright

D Wright R Youngs

As always we are greatly indebted to Gillian Goldfarb, our production editor, and to Jennifer Almond, our sub-editor, for the vast amount of work which they undertake to ensure that the *Journal* maintains its high

standard.

We would also like to thank Roger Pitt, Richard Rice, Thelma Aspland and Sheila Hubbard of Headley Brothers who guide the *Journal* through its stages of publication and printing.

Finally we wish to thank all our contributors and readers for their continued support of the *Journal*. May we wish you all a very Happy Christmas and a successful New Year.

Neil Weir and Guy Kenyon Editors