IRANIAN STUDIES

JOURNAL OF THE SOCIETY FOR IRANIAN STUDIES

Editor: R. D. McChesney

Assistant Editor: Linda S. Thomas Book Review Editor: Rudi Matthee

Book Review Committee: William Hanaway, Rudi Matthee

Editorial Board: Janet Afary, Ali Banuazizi, H.E. Chehabi, Juan R. I. Cole,

Stephen Dale, Dick Davis, William Hanaway, Masashi Haneda, Bernard Hourcade, Farhad Kazemi, Rudi Matthee, Charles Melville, Jürgen Paul, Priscilla Soucek, Maria E.

Subtelny

THE SOCIETY FOR IRANIAN STUDIES

COUNCIL (1998)

Ahmad Ashraf Kathryn Babayan Lois Beck Carol Bier Dick Davis William Hanaway Eliz Sanasarian

Student Members

Farooq Hamid Sunil Sharma

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (1998)

Ali Banuazizi, *President*, Boston College Farhad Kazemi, *President-Elect*, New York University Ehsan Yarshater, *Past-President*, Columbia University Kambiz Eslami, *Executive Secretary*, Princeton University Vahid Noshirvani, *Treasurer*, Columbia University R. D. McChesney, *Editor*, New York University

©1998, The Society for Iranian Studies Published in the U.S.A. Printed by Thomson-Shore Printers, Dexter, Mich. USISSN 0021-0862

Cover design: "A Seated Youth," attributed to Mir Sayyid Ali (Tabriz), ca. 1540, courtesy of the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C. (Accession no. S86.0291)