From the Editor

2019 Microscopy Today Innovation Awards



Congratulations to the winners of the tenth annual *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards competition. We now have honored 100 innovations over the last decade. I want to thank all of the individuals, corporations, and institutions that submitted applications to this competition. Many of those submissions, even if they did not win an Innovation Award, were subsequently published as articles within these pages. Those articles provided descriptions of devices and methods useful to microscopists—a key objective of this publication.

As always, our team of judges, led by Tom Kelly, looked for innovations that will make new scientific investigations possible. The ten winning innovations below were selected on the basis of their usefulness to the microscopy community and their probable importance for future research. The entries most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, or entirely new methods of analysis using some type of microscope or microanalytical instrument.

The 2019 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Award winners are:

Angstrom Science, Inc. for Access™, an ultra-thin AFM for integration with other microscopies

Brookhaven National Laboratory, ShanghaiTech University, and City University of Hong Kong for a compact quadrupole-based ultrafast MeV TEM

Cornell University for an electron microscope pixel array detector (EMPAD) for ptychography Gatan, Inc. for the K3™ IS, a high-speed large-format camera for *in situ* microscopy Imperial College London for nanoscale tweezers that can extract molecules from live cells Oak Ridge National Lab for AICrystallographer that converts atomic images to atomic coordinates

Protochips, Inc. for the Atmosphere Catalysis Solution with integrated mass spectrometer **Tomocube, Inc.** for the HT-2 holotomographic microscope with 3D fluorescence **UCLA** for secondary electron electron-beam-induced-current (SEEBIC) imaging **University of Illinois** for single-shot label-free autofluorescence-multiharmonic (SLAM) microscopy

An article within this issue provides descriptions of the above innovations. Nomination applications for the next competition are available upon request (charles.lyman@lehigh.edu). The deadline for application submission is March 21, 2020.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the Microscopy Today website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2019 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman, Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 674-7600

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor randerson 20@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Robert Price, Associate Editor-in-Chief bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Eric Clark, Pioneers Editor eclark@magnet.fsu.edu

Richard Edelmann, Education Editor edelmare@miamioh.edu

Deb Kelly, Microscopy 101 Editor debkelly@psu.edu

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor p.webster@oak-crest.org

John Shields, Humor Editor johnshields59@gmail.com

Nikolaus Cordes, Digital Content Editor nikolaus.cordes@inl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Innovation Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Robert Simmons, Chief Micrograph Judge robert.simmons@briarwillow.com

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Kelly Miller, Account Manager kmiller@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available.

Publisher

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

Editorial Board

Nasim Alem, Penn State University Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY lan Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Bradley Thiel, SUNY Polytechnic Institute Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)