KING BAUDOUIN INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT PRIZE

The King Baudouin Foundation will award the King Baudouin International Development Prize for the third time in the autumn of 1984. Laureates of the prize are:

Professor Paulo Freire, for his contribution to teaching methods for the elimination of illiteracy;

The Consultative Group on International Agriculture Research for its contribution to the qualitative and quantitative improvement of food production in the world;

Dr A. T. Ariyaratne, president of the Shramadana Sarvodaya movement in Sri Lanka for his remarkable activity in encouraging local communities to control their own development themselves.

The purpose of the prize is to reward persons who, or organizations which, without regard to national origin, have made a substantial contribution toward the development of the Third World or toward the cooperation and good relations among industrialized and developing countries and among their peoples.

Particular importance shall be attached to activities having a multiplier effect and to activities that enable the peoples of the Third World to work for their own development.

The prize is four million Belgian francs (approximately \$80,000).

The regulations of the Prize, which contain all relevant details, can be obtained from:

the Secretariat King Baudouin Foundation rue Brederode 21 B-1000 Brussels (Belgium)

and from Belgian diplomatic or consular posts

CENTRE INTERNATIONAL DES CIVILISATIONS BANTU (CICIBA)

At the second conference of Ministers of Culture of the eight states of the Bantu Zone it was agreed that a Centre International des Civilisations Bantu (CICIBA) should be established.

The first seminar was held early in July in Libreville.

Further information can be obtained from:

M. Emile Mbot, Ministre de la Culture, des Arts et de l'Education Populaire, Libreville, Republique Gabonaise.

THE REPUBLIC OF DJIBOUTI

The Republic of Djibouti has appointed Professors B. W. Andrezjewski, Pierre Bonte, Maurice Godelier, Ali Abderaluman Hersi, I. M. Lewis, Tadesse Tamrat and Joseph Tubiana as members of the Human Science Section of its International Scientific Council. The inaugural meeting, held in Djibouti from 15-18 January 1983 at the Institut Superieur d'Etudes et de Recherches Scientifiques et