THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

University of Notre Dame
Fall 1989

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Editor DONALD P. KOMMERS

Managing Editor
DENNIS WM MORAN

Book Review Editor
WALTER NICGORSKI

Associate Editors

Philip Gleason E. A. Goerner Thomas Stritch Thomas Werge

Former Editors

Waldemar Gurian M. A. Fitzsimons Thomas Stritch Frederick J. Crosson

Editorial Advisory Board

Henry J. Abraham University of Virginia

Charles W. Anderson

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Shlomo Avineri

Hebrew University
of Jerusalem

Robort F. Rynno

Robert F. Byrnes
Indiana University
Ernest L. Fortin
Boston College
Gerald Garvey
Princeton University

Penny T. Gill
Mount Holyoke College

J. David Greenstone
University of Chicago
Arend Lijphart
University of CaliforniaSan Diego

Alasdair MacIntyre
University of Notre Dame

Harvey C. Mansfield, Jr.
Harvard University

John R. Schmidhauser University of Southern

California Kenneth W. Thompson University of Virginia Glenn Tinder

> University of Massachusetts-Boston

Editorial Intern Alan Gibson

The Review of Politics, without neglecting the analysis of institutions and techniques, is primarily interested in the philosophical and historical approach to political realities.

The articles in The Review of Politics are indexed in the International Index to Periodicals and the Index of Catholic Periodicals and abstracted in the International Political Science Abstracts. They are abstracted and indexed in ABC POL. SCI. and HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS and SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX.

The Review of Politics (ISSN 0034-6705) is published quarterly for \$25.00 per year in the United States (Individual, \$20.00); foreign \$28.00 (Individual \$23.00); single copies, \$6.25 (domestic) and \$7.00 (foreign) by The University of Notre Dame, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. Second-class postage paid at Notre Dame, IN. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to The Review of Politics, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556.

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Published Quarterly by the University of Notre Dame, Indiana

Vol. 5	1 Fall 1989 N	o. 4
Місн	AEL J. PERRY Neutral Politics?	479
Матт	HEW J. FRANCK Statesmanship and the Judiciary	510
Rове	RT B. THIGPEN AND LYLE A. DOWNING Liberal and Communitarian Approaches to Justification	533
Leona	The Limits of Constitutional Government: Reflections toward the Conclusion of the Bicentennial Celebration of Our Constitution	551
Russe	ll Nieli	
	Commercial Society and Christian Virtue: The Mandeville – Law Dispute	581
Reviews	·	
	Thomas Engeman: Explication de Constitution James L. Curtis: Perspectives on the Constitutional Convention David Fellman: Hugo Black as Polestar James Tunstead Burtchaell, C.S.C.: The Right to Life and the Liberal	612 613 615
	Tradition Timothy Fuller: Hobbes: Champion of the Ordinary Citizen	618 620
	Peter Berkowitz: Reconstructing Nietzsche as Progressive Bernard P. Dauenhauer: Phases of Merleau-Ponty's Political Philosophy Edward Andrew: Simone Weil: The Difficulty of Seeing Her Clearly	623 628 631
	John A. Gueguen: Appreciating Gerhart Niemeyer H. Mark Roelofs: Socialism and Christianity	635 638
	David G. Skidmore II: Coping with Decline David Clay Large: Confronting the Past	640 644

Contributors to This Issue

MICHAEL J. PERRY is Professor of Law in the Northwestern University School of Law. Matthew J. Frank is Instructor of Political Science in Radford University. Robert B. Thigpen and Lyle A. Downing are both members of the Political Science Department of the University of New Orleans, New Orleans. Leonard R. Sorenson is Assistant Professor of Politics in Assumption College. Russell Nieli is a member of the Department of Politics in Princeton University.

THOMAS ENGEMAN, a member of Loyola's Political Science Department. is currently teaching in Loyola's Rome Program. James L. Curtis teaches political science in Pennsylvania State University. DAVID Fellman is Professor Emeritus of Political Science in the University of Wisconsin-Madison. James Tunstead Burtchaell, c.s.c., whose The Giving and Taking of Life was published in 1989, is Professor of Theology at Notre Dame. TIMOTHY FULLER, Professor of Political Science in Colorado College, is Editor of the International Hobbes Association Newsletter. Peter Berkowitz, Assistant Professor of Government in Harvard University, is the winner of 1988 APSA Leo Strauss Prize for his dissertation, "The Foundations of Nietzsche's Political Philosophy." BER-NARD P. DAUENHAUER is Professor of Philosophy in the University of Georgia. EDWARD ANDREW is Professor of Political Science in the University of Toronto. John A. Gueguen teaches political philosophy at Illinois State University. DAVID G. SKIDMORE II is Assistant Professor of Political Science in Drake University. DAVID CLAY LARGE is Associate Professor of History in Montana State University, Bozeman.

INSTRUCTIONS TO CONTRIBUTORS

All manuscripts should be submitted in QUADRUPLICATE to *The Review of Politics*, Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. If the return of the manuscript is desired, a stamped, self-addressed envelope should be enclosed. All typewritten material should be double-spaced, including notes and quotations; photocopies of a good quality are acceptable. *The Review* follows the *Chicago Manual of Style* for standards of citation, punctuation and other editorial considerations. The normal length of manuscripts published is 25-30 pages. Longer manuscripts will be evaluated in light of the limited printing space available. Since manuscripts are evaluated anonymously they should not bear the author's name or institutional affiliation. Submissions should be sent with an ABSTRACT of 100-150 words. All correspondence regarding book reviews should be sent to Mr. Walter Nicgorski at the above address.