The Rockefeller University has made 11 grants-in-aid to support projects requiring substantial research in the holdings of the Rockefeller Archive Center during 1979. The grant recipients were Pnina G. Abir-Am, Stanley Cobun, Donald Fisher, Lawrence C. Kelly, John Klein, Alfred A. Moss, Jr., Ronald F. Movrich, Robert Wayne Seidel, John Alexander Williams, Ka-che Yip, and Joan Grace Zimmerman.

Grants ranging from \$500 to \$1000 will be made to graduate students or advanced scholars engaged in similar projects for the year 1980. Applications for grants during 1980 should be made before December 31, 1979. The names of recipients will be announced on or before March 31, 1980.

Inquiries about the program and the open collections at the Center should be addressed to: Director, Rockefeller Archive Center, Hillcrest, Pocantico Hills, North Tarrytown, New York 10591.

ANNOUNCEMENT II

The Berkshire Conference of Women Historians will award its annual prizes for the best book and the best article in any field of history written by a woman and published during 1979. Submissions for the book should be sent to Professor Carol S. Gruber, Department of History, William Paterson College of New Jersey, Wayne, New Jersey, 07470 and for the article award to Professor Doris Goldstein, Department of History, Yeshiva University, 245 Lexington Avenue, New York, N.Y. 10016. Two copies of the book or article are required. Deadline for submission is February 1, 1980.

ANNOUNCEMENT III

The 1980 meetings of the Social Science History Association will be held in the Fall in Rochester, New York, hosted by the State University of New York at Brockport. Any interested in proposing a paper or preferably a panel should contact:

Harvey J. Graff The Newberry Library 60 West Walton Street Chicago, Ill. 60610

AMERICAN CHILDREN'S LITERATURE - 19TH AND 20TH CENTURY

HESS FELLOWSHIP (Grants-in-Aid)

University of Minnesota Children's Literature Research Collections

The Children's Literature Research Collections offers Grants-in-Aid to students of American Children's Literature. Funding for this program is provided by the Saint Paul Foundation. The Hess Collection of 70,000 Dime Novels and Story Papers, and the Series Book Collection, consisting of 10,000 volumes, provide resources for the researcher.

Grants-in-Aid will be awarded to qualified scholars whose research requires the use of the collections of the Children's Literature Research Collections. Preference will be given to post-graduates, but other applications will be considered. Selected applicants will receive transportation and \$25 per diem. Hess Fellows will be selected by the Grant-in-Aid Committee in 1980 and 1981.

Applications for 1980 must be in the hands of the committee by April 1, 1980; and for 1981 by April 1, 1981. For application materials or further information, contact

Grant-in-Aid Committee Children's Literature Research Collections 109 Walter Library 117 Pleasant Street S.E. University of Minnesota Libraries Minneapolis, MN 55455 (612) 373-9731

ANNOUNCEMENT V

The Midwest History of Education Society will hold its annual meeting on October 24-25, 1980, at Loyola University of Chicago. Persons interested in presenting a paper should submit two copies of the manuscript on or before May 1, 1980, to James C. Carper, Program Chairman, Department of Education, Tulane University, New Orleans, Louisiana 70118.

PAST PRESIDENTS

	THOT TRESIDENTS	
Lawrence A. Cremin	Teachers College, Columbia University	1959-60
Merle L. Borrowman	University of Wisconsin (now the Univ.	1960-61
	of California, Berkeley)	
Lloyd P. Jorgensen	University of Missouri	1961-62
Archibald W. Anderson	University of Illinois (deceased)	1962-63
Franklin Parker	University of Texas	1963-64
Raymond E. Callahan	Washington University	1964-65
J.J. Chambliss	Rutgers University	1965-66
Robert L. McCaul	University of Chicago	1966-67
Ann Keppel	University of Hawaii	1967-68
Paul Nash	Boston University	1969-69
David B. Tyack	Stanford University	1969-70
Henry J. Perkinson	New York University	1970-71
Charles Burgess	University of Washington	1971-72
Patricia Albjerg Graham	Barnard College (now Harvard Univ.)	1972-73
John H. Calam	University of British Columbia	1973-74
Vincent P. Lannie	University of Notre Dame	1974-75
Michael B. Katz	University of Toronto (now Univ.	1975-76
	of Pennsylvania)	
Geraldine Joncich Clifford	University of California, Berkeley	1977
Clarence Karier	University of Illinois	1978
Jurgen Herbst	University of Wisconsin	1979
Wayne J. Urban	Georgia State University	1980
Carl F. Kaestle	University of Wisconsin	1981
Sol Cohen	University of California, Los Angeles	1982
Marvin Lazerson	University of British Columbia	1983
Douglas Sloan	Columbia University, Teachers College	1984