Behaviour Change

Journal of
the Australian
Association for
Cognitive and
Behaviour Therapy

EDITOR
ALAN RALPH
James Cook University

VOLUME 15

NUMBER 1

1998

SPECIAL SERIES

School Refusal



Editor

Alan Ralph
James Cook University

Associate Editors

Neville M. Blampied University of Canterbury

Eleonora Gullone Monash University

Margot R. Prior
Royal Children's Hospital

Matthew R. Sanders University of Queensland

Managing Editor

Mervyn S. Jackson Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology Dept of Psychology and Intellectual Disability Studies Plenty Road Bundoora VIC 3083 Phone (03) 9468 2367 Fax (03) 9468 2303

Editorial Board

Keith D. Ballard
University of Otago

David H. Barlow

State University of New York at Albany

Jay S. Birnbrauer
Murdoch University

Edward B. Blanchard State University of New York at Albany

Cynthia M. Bulik Virginia Commonwealth University

Mark R. Dadds Griffith University

Georg H. Eifert West Virginia University

Cyril M. Franks
Rutgers University

W. Kim Halford
Griffith University

David J. de L. Horne
University of Melbourne

Jack E. James
La Trobe University

Alan E. Kazdin Yale University

Neville J. King Monash University Peter Lovibond

University of New South Wales

Paul R. Martin
University of New England

lain Montgomery
University of Tasmania

Thomas H. Ollendick Virginia Polytechnic and State University

Neville Owen

Deakin University

Clare Roberts
Curtin University of
Technology

John F. Smith University of Waikato

Susan H. Spence University of Queensland

G. Terence Wilson
Rutgers University

Peter H. Wilson Flinders University of South Australia

Kevin W. Wheldall Macquarie University

Indexing

Behaviour Change is indexed in the following information systems: Australian Education Index, Multicultural Education Abstracts, Special Educational Needs Abstracts, CABS, Excerpta Medica, Psychological Abstracts, PsyclNFO, Sociological Abstracts, Sage Family Study Abstracts, Current Contents/Social and Behavioural Sciences, Social SciSearch, and Research Alert.

Conditions and Copyright

Responsibility for the contents of papers rests upon the authors, and not upon the Association or the Publisher.

It is a condition of publication that manuscripts submitted to this journal have not been published and will not be simultaneously submitted or published elsewhere. By submitting a manuscript, the authors agree that the copyright for their article is transferred to the Publisher if and when the article is accepted for publication. However, assignment of copyright is not required from authors who work for organisations that do not permit such assignment. The copyright covers the exclusive rights to reproduce and

distribute the article, including reprints, photographic reductions, microfilm or any other reproductions of similar nature and translations. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, electrostatic, magnetic tape, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Subscription rates

Orders and subscription enquiries should be addressed to: Journal Subscriptions, Australian Academic Press, 32 Jeays Street, Bowen Hills, QLD 4006, AUSTRALIA.

Australia New Zealand
Individuals \$34 Individuals \$44 (1 yr)
Institutions \$64 Institutions \$74 (1 yr)

Overseas
Individuals \$6

Individuals \$60 (1 yr)
Institutions \$84 (1 yr)

Behaviour Change

VOLUME 15

NUMBER 1

1998

Journal of the Australian Association for Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy

Contents

Transitional Change	1
Introduction to the Special Series on School Refusal David Heyne	3
School Refusal: An Overview Neville King, Thomas H. Ollendick, Bruce J. Tonge, David Heyne, Melinda Pritchard, Stephanie Rollings, Dawn Young, and Nicole Myerson	5
Assessment Practices and Issues with School-refusing Children Thomas H. Ollendick and Neville J. King	16
The Self-efficacy Questionnaire for School Situations: Development and Psychometric Evaluation David Heyne, Neville King, Bruce Tonge, Stephanie Rollings, Melinda Pritchard, Dawn Young, and Nicole Myerson	31
Predicting Testicular and Breast Self-examination Behaviour: A test of the Theory of Reasoned Action Susan M. Moore, Norman R. Barling and Bernadette Hood	41
Time-out as a Means of Shaping Whole-task Completion as a Precursor to Establishing Rule-following Behaviour with a Severely Noncompliant Preschool Child Wendy K. Pailthorpe and Alan Ralph	50
Reviews	62
AACBT 21st National Conference	64
World Congress of Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Notice	65
Expressions of Interest — Book Review Editor	66

SPECIAL SERIES

School Refusal I-40

Behaviour Change is published four times annually and issued to all financial ordinary, institutional and student members of AACBT.

©1998 The Australian Association for Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy



Published for the AACBT by AUSTRALIAN ACADEMIC PRESS 32 Jeays Street, Bowen Hills, QLD 4006, Australia.

www.australianacademicpress.com.au

Australian Association for Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy

Formerly the Australian Behaviour Modification Association (ABMA)

AIMS

The Australian Association for Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy (AACBT) is a multidisciplinary professional society. The aims of the Association are:

- To organise continuing education and training in the principles and practice of Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy;
- To publish and disseminate information to members about developments in Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy in Australia and other countries;
- 3. To educate the community in the principles and ethical practice of Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy;
- To liaise and consult with other persons or organisations in the teaching and practice of Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy;
- 5. To promote the ethical practice of Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy by members;
- 6. To organise or assist in the organisation of an annual National Conference on Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy.

97879	Keith Jonson		
979–80	David De L. Horne	198990	Nada Murphy
1980-83	Matthew R. Sanders	1990-91	Mervyn Jackson
1983-84	Peter Millier	1991-92	Peter Lovibond
1984-85	Paul Martin	1992-93	Jan Lawton
1985–86	Alan Hudson	1993-94	Leone McCarron
986–87	Peter Wilson	1994-95	Jura Tender
1987–88	Mark Dadds	1995-96	Neville King
198889	Don Tustin	199696	Tim Sharp

National President

Ross Young

Department of Psychiatry University of Queensland Royal Brisbane Hospital Herston QLD 4029 Ph: (07) 3365 5140

Branch Presidents

New South Wales

Etty Matalon

Jarrah House C/- Prince Henry Hospital Anzac Parade Little Bay NSW 2036

Victoria

Neville King

Faculty of Education Monash University Wellington Road Clayton VIC 3168 Ph: (03) 9905 2853

Queensland

Sandy Hutchinson 143 Khartoum Street Gordon Park QLD 4031 Ph: (07) 3253 5187

South Australia Barbara Pennington

Minda Inc. PO Box 5 Brighton SA 5048 Ph: (08) 296 4711

Western Australia Wendy Radcliffe

Disability Service Commission 22 Queen Street Fremantle WA 6160 Ph: (09) 430 0632