#### DIVISION VII

## GALACTIC SYSTEM

Division VII provides a forum for astronomers studying our home galaxy, the Milky Way, which offers a unique laboratory for exploring the detailed structure of the stellar and gaseous components of galaxies and the processes by which they form and evolve.

PRESIDENT

Georges Meylan

**ESO** 

Karl Schwarzschildstr 2 D 85748 Garching

Germany

Tel:+49-893 200 6293 Fax:+49-893 202 362 Email:gmeylan@eso.org

**BOARD** 

G. Da Costa K. Freeman A. Sarajedini D. Spergel

Past President Commission 33 Vice President Commission 37 President Commission 33

Past President Commission 37

P. Whitelock

Vice President Commission 33

#### PARTICIPATING COMMISSIONS

**COMMISSION 33:** 

STRUCTURE AND DYNAMICS OF THE GALACTIC

**SYSTEM** 

**COMMISSION 37:** 

STAR CLUSTERS AND ASSOCIATIONS

## DIVISION VII: GALACTIC SYSTEM

(SYSTEME GALACTIQUE)

PRESIDENT: Kenneth Freeman

BOARD: G. Da Costa, D. Spergel, J. Binney, L. Blitz, F. Matteucci

Commission 33: Structure and Dynamics of the Galactic System

Commission 37: Star Clusters and Associations

#### 1. Introduction

Division VII held a brief business session at 14:15 on August 11, 2000, followed by a scientific session for the remainder of the afternoon.

## 2. Business Meeting

The President described the activities of the Board of the Division. The primary activity was to sponsor IAU Symposia and Colloquia. Division VII was involved in all four Symposia proposed for 2001, which were to be considered by the incoming EC at this General Assembly. These meetings are (with the role of Division VII in brackets):

- Extragalactic Star Clusters, Chile, March 2001 (sponsor)
- Astrophysical Supercomputing using Particle Simulations, Japan, July 2001 (sponsor)
- Planetary Nebulae, Australia, November 2001 (supporter)
- Cosmic Masers, Brazil, March 2001 (supporter)

## 3. The Role of Divisions in the IAU

The President noted that the role of Divisions in the IAU may be changing. Division Presidents may have a bigger role in the management of the IAU. This is as yet uncertain, but members could anticipate some changes after the Sydney General Assembly in 2003.

#### 4. New Division Board

The meeting agreed to follow the practice at the previous General Assembly in appointing the President, Vice President and Past President of the two constituent Commissions (33 and 37) as the members of the Board of Division VII. The new Board is:

- President G. Meylan (President of Commission 37)
- Vice President D. Spergel (President of Commission 33)
- P. Whitelock (Vice President of Commission 33)
- A. Sarajedini (Vice President of Commission 37)
- K. Freeman (Past President of Commission 33)
- G. Da Costa (Past President of Commission 37)

#### 5. Scientific Session

The following short talks were presented:

- Shu, C.G. et al.: Two-component Model for the Chemical Evolution of the Galactic Disk
- Whitelock, P & Feast, M: A Galactic Bar to Beyond the Solar Circle.
- Lynden-Bell, D & Tout C: A New Picture of the Nature of Dark Matter
- Pilachowski, C et al.: Spectroscopy of 1000 Globular Cluster Giants
- Da Costa, G et al.: The Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxy And III M31's Draco or Ursa Minor?
- Platais, I & Mathieu, R: The WIYN Open Cluster Study
- Freeman, K et al.: Internal Kinematics in Omega Centauri the Leiden-Stromlo program completed

Two poster papers were presented:

- Martins, D & Sarajedini, A: New BVI Photometry of NGC 6352
- Lloyd Evans, T: Mass Loss from Evolved Stars in Westerlund 1

K.C. Freeman President of the Division

H. Rickman (ed.), Transactions of the International Astronomical Union, Vol. XXIVB, 197-197. ©2001 IAU. Printed in the United States of America.

# COMMISSION 33: STRUCTURE AND DYNAMICS OF THE GALACTIC SYSTEM

(STRUCTURE ET DYNAMIQUE DU SYSTEME GALACTIQUE)

PRESIDENT: Kenneth Freeman VICE-PRESIDENT: David Spergel

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: J. Binney, A. Fridman, O. Gerhard, J. Grindlay, A. Kalnajs, F. Matteucci, J. Palouš, M. Perryman, P. Whitelock

#### 1. Introduction

Commission 33 held a brief business meeting at 14:00 on August 11, 2000, followed by a scientific session of Division VII (Commissions 33 and 37) for the remainder of the afternoon.

## 2. Business Meeting

The President summarized the activities of the Organising Committee during the last three years. They included

- preparing the report on research in the area of interest of the Commission for the period 1996-99.
- supporting proposals for Symposia and Colloquia.

. The President noted that it is possible that the involvement of Commissions in organising scientific sessions at the General Assemblies may increase in the future.

## 3. New Organising Committee

The meeting received the results of the email election which took place in June, 2000. The new Organising Committee of Commission 33 is:

• President: D. Spergel

• Vice President: P. Whitelock

• Past President: K. Freeman

Members: J. Palouš, O. Gerhard, J. Grindlay, M. Perryman, Yu. Efremov\*, W. Evans\*, C. Flynn\*, R. Wyse\* and C. Yuan\* (\* denotes new member).

The President thanked the retiring members of the Organising Committee for their contributions to the Commission over the last six years.

#### 4. Scientific Session

Please see the report of Division VII for a summary of the scientific session.

Kenneth Freeman
President of the Commission

# COMMISSION 37: STAR CLUSTERS AND ASSOCIATIONS

(AMAS STELLAIRES ET ASSOCIATIONS)

PRESIDENT: Gary S. Da Costa VICE-PRESIDENT: Georges Meylan ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: S. Aarseth, R. Buonanno, R. Cannon, V. Castellani, K. Cudworth, A. Feinstein, C. Lada, A. Sarajedini

## Activities at the General Assembly

Commission 37 (Star Clusters & Associations) held a brief business meeting at the IAU General Assembly in Manchester during the science session organized by Division VII. At this meeting a new Commission structure for the 2000–2003 period was approved. The incoming Commission President is Dr. Georges Meylan and the new Commission Vice-President is Dr. Ata Sarajedini. The Commission Organizing Committee for 2000-2003 consists of Dr. Gary Da Costa, ex-officio, as Immediate Past President, and ordinary members Dr. Russell Cannon, Dr. Vittorio Castellani, Dr. Kyle Cudworth, Dr. Despina Hatzidimitriou, Dr. Charles Lada and Dr. Rainer Spurzem. Drs. Hatzidimitriou and Spurzem are new Organizing Committee members, replacing Drs. Aarseth, Buonanno and Feinstein.

At the General Assembly 11 new members were added to the Commission taking the total membership to approximately 240 members.

In regard to the scientific program at the General Assembly, the Commission was a "Participating Commission" for two Joint Discussion sessions: JD5 "Mixing and Diffusion in Stars: Theoretical Predictions and Observational Constraints" and JD13 "HIPPARCOS and the Luminosity Calibration of the Nearer Stars". Commission members also took part in the Division VII science session.

Dr. Gary S. Da Costa President of the Commission