COMMISSION 30

RADIAL VELOCITIES

VITESSES RADIALES

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Birgitta Nordström Stéphane Udry Andrei A. Tokovinin

Dainis Dravins, Francis C. Fekel,

Elena V. Glushkova,

Hugo Levato, Dimitri Pourbaix, Myron A. Smith, Laszlo Szabados,

Guillermo Torres

DIVISION IX / COMMISSION 30 WORKING GROUPS

Division IX / Commission 30 / WG Radial-Velocity Standard Stars

Division IX / Commission 30 / WG Stellar Radial-Velocity Bibliography Division IX / Commission 30 / WG Catalog of orbital Elements of

Spectroscopic Binary Systems

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS MEETING on 18 August 2006

1. Report by the president

The president welcomed all the participants of the Business Meeting and remarked that several of the major ongoing and planned Radial Velocity projects were well represented.

1.1. Membership

A number of very large radial velocity surveys are ongoing and planned. Several of the key persons in these projects are new members in Commission 30.

The following 16 colleagues had applied for membership of Commission 30 and were unanimously welcomed as members: Richard A. Arnold (New Zealand), Francoise Crifo (France), Vladimir Elkin (UK), Johan Holmberg (Germany), David A. Katz (France), Geoffrey W. Marcy (USA), Douglas J. Mink (USA), Dominique Naef (Chile), Nicola R. Napolitano (Italy), Mikhail E. Sachkov (Russian Federation), Nuno Miguel C. Santos (Portugal), Anja C. Schroder (UK), Zaggia Simone (Italy), Matthias Steinmetz (Germany), Catherine Turon (France), and Tomaz Zwitter, Slovenia.

1.2. Elections

The Nominating Committee had solicited nominations to the Commission membership for the five vacant posts in the Organizing Committee (OC). The working rules concerning elections of members of the OC had been followed. No election was necessary as the nomination procedure resulted in five candidates which was equal to the number of vacancies. The new members of the Organizing Committee are: Ken Freeman (Australia), Goeff Marcy (USA), Catherine Turon (France), Robert Mathieu (USA), and Tomaz Zwitter (Slovenia).

Outgoing members of the OC are: Dainis Dravins, Hugo Levato, Birgitta Nordström, Myron Smith, and Laszlo Szabados.

Thus the new officers and organizing committee for 2006 - 2009 are:

Stephane Udry (president), Guillermo Torres (vice-president), Birgitta Nordström (past president), Francis C. Fekel, Kenneth C. Freeman, Elena V. Glushkova, Goeffrey W. Marcy, Robert D. Mathieu, Dimitri Pourbaix, Catherine Turon, and Tomaz Zwitter.

2. The triennial report 2002-2005

The very lively activity in the field of radial velocities is shown in the extensive triennial report to which several of the OC members made great contributions. See (Nordström 2006), and http://www.ctio.noao.edu/science/iauc30/iauc30.html.

3. Reports from the Working Groups

The chairpersons of the three Working Groups of the commission gave reports on the work done during the past triennium as well as their plans for the future:

- Radial velocity standard stars new needs for exoplanets, Gaia, SIM, etc. by Stephan Udry;
- Stellar radial velocity bibliography by Hugo Levato;
- Catalogue of orbital elements of spectroscopic binary systems by Dimitri Pourbaix.

4. Reports from new radial velocity surveys planned and ongoing work

- 'New results in exoplanet work' by Stéphane Udry;
- 'The Solar neighbourhood' by Johan Holmberg;
- 'The RAVE project' by Tomaz Zwitter.

5. End of meeting

The president thanked the outgoing members of the Organizing Committee for their contributions, constructive ideas and very active participation in discussions on Commission 30 matters. She also thanked the speakers and the participants at the meeting.

Birgitta Nordström president of the Commission

References

Nordström 2006, in: *Commission 30, Radial Velocities*, IAU Transactions XXVIA, Reports on Astronomy 2002 - 2005, O. Engvold (ed.), 2007 (Cambridge: CUP).