### THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: Prof. D. W. ROBINSON Department of Mathematics

Australian National University

**ACT 0200** 

Prof. D. ELLIOTT Department of Mathematics Secretary:

The University of Tasmania

GPO Box 252C

Hobart Tasmania 7001

Dr A. Howe **Mathematics Department** Treasurer:

Australian National University

Canberra ACT 0200

Membership subscriptions

Institutions: (for 1996)

Ordinary members:

A\$762 (this includes all publications) A\$65(A\$60if paid before 31 Dec.95)

Reciprocal members: A\$33 Reduced rate members: A\$12 Sustaining members: A\$130

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements, members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at the rate shown.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, subscriptions, changes of address or title or position, correspondence about accounts or distribution of the Society's journals, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

Members receive the Gazette free and are entitled to purchase other publications at the following annual rates (1996): Journal (Series A) A\$33, Journal (Series B) A\$25, Bulletin A\$30. For reduced rate members, the subscription prices are half those quoted.

# OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

JOURNAL of the Autralian Mathematical Society, Series A (Pure Mathematics and Statistics). Six parts will be published in 1996, cost A\$273 per year.

Editor: Dr J. GROVES, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Vic. 3052.

BULLETIN of the Australian Mathematical Society aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Six parts will be published in 1996, cost A\$250 per year.

Editor: Dr A. S. JONES, University of Queensland, Old 4072.

GAZETTE carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. The 1996 cost is A\$48 per year.

Editor: Prof. T. M. MILLS, Department of Mathematics, La Trobe University, Bendigo, Vic. 3550.

# **Copyright Statement**

Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., to libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of A\$2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress St, Salem, MA 01970, USA. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., Mathematics Department, Australian National University, Canberra, ACT 0200, Australia. Serial-fee code: 0334-2700/95.

© Copyright Australian Mathematical Society 1996

The Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1959, and from 1975 appears in two series, Series A (Pure Mathematics and Statistics) and Series B (Applied Mathematics). Series B is published in volumes comprising four quarterly parts. Information about Series A and other publications of the Society may be found on the inside back cover.

It is the editorial policy of Series B to accept papers in any field of applied mathematics and related mathematical sciences. Novel applications of mathematics in real situations are especially welcomed. All papers should include some indication of applicability, and an introduction that can be understood by non-specialist readers from the whole applied mathematical community.

## Editor of the Journal, Series B

C. E. M. PEARCE, Applied Mathematics Department, The University of Adelaide, Australia, 5005.

### **Associate Editors**

B. D. CRAVEN
Department of Mathematics
University of Melbourne
Parkville Vic. 3052

A. EASTON
Department of Mathematics
Swinburne University of
Technology
PO Box 218
Hawthorn Vic. 3122

R. H. J. GRIMSHAW Department of Mathematics Monash University Clayton Vic. 3168

J. F. HARPER Department of Mathematics Victoria University of Wellington PO Box 600

Wellington, New Zealand J. M. HILL

Department of Mathematics University of Wollongong PO Box 1144 Wollongong NSW 2500 C. A. HURST
Department of Physics and
Mathematical Physics
The University of Adelaide
Australia 5005

P. KLOEDEN
Department of Computing and Mathematics
Deakin University
Geelong Vic. 3217

Geelong Vic. 3217

M. R. OSBORNE
Program in Advanced
Computation
School of Mathematical
Sciences
Australian National University

**ACT 0200** 

P. K. POLLETT
Department of Mathematics
University of Queensland
Old 4072

S. M. SCOTT School of Mathematical Sciences

Australian National University ACT 0200

K. L. TEO

Department of Mathematics The University of Western Australia Nedlands WA 6009

W. W. WOOD Department of Mathematics University of Melbourne Parkville Vic. 3052

# **Assistant Editors**

E. A. COUSINS, J. GAFFNEY, Applied Mathematics Department, The University of Adelaide, Australia, 5005.

Manuscripts (three copies) for publication should be sent to the editor or to an appropriate associate editor at the address given above. Such action is a representation by the author that the manuscript has not been copyrighted or published, and that it is not being considered for publication elsewhere.

Authors are asked to read the section "Preparation of Manuscripts" on the outside cover.

Irrespective of the number of authors, 50 free offprints of each copy are provided; additional offprints may be ordered at the expense of the authors.

Excessive costs incurred by the Society through corrections to or withdrawal of articles may be charged to the authors concerned.

Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, Series B—Applied Mathematics (ISSN 0334-2700) is published quarterly for A\$174 (Members A\$25) per annum by the Australian Mathematical Society, Mathematics Department, Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia. Second class postage is paid at Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106, USA. Postmaster: Send address change notices to Dr A. Howe, Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, Mathematics Department, Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia.