COMMISSION 27

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

VARIABLE STARS (ETOILES VARIABLES)

Steven D. Kawaler Gerald Handler Conny Aerts Tim Bedding, Márcio Catelan, Margarida Cunha, Laurent Eyer, Simon Jeffery, Peter Martinez, Katalin Oláh, Karen Pollard, Seetha Somasundaram

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS SESSIONS, 5 August 2009

1. Overview of the activities and achievements

The meeting started at 14h00. The president welcomed the participants to the business meeting of C27, and acknowledged the members of the Organizing Committee. Special thanks were expressed to the outgoing members: Conny Aerts, Peter Martinez, and Seetha Somasundaram.

After the approval of the agenda, he provided an overview of the activities of C27 of the past three years, rooted in the triennial report of the Commission submitted earlier in the year. The triennial report on Research in Variable Stars and C27 activities initially drafted by the president with voluminous input from the OC members. The OC and president then iterated to be as inclusive as possible while staying within the 6 page limit.

A total of 9 IAU meeting proposals was evaluated by the OC. As in previous years, the OC ranked the proposals as a group whenever possible. The occasional at-the-deadline proposals were treated with care to ensure fairness to those submitted earlier.

2. Election of New Officers

New officers were selected prior to the General Assembly following similar procedures to what had been done in past years. Nominations were solicited from the entire C27 membership, with selection of the final slate to replace outgoing Organizing Committee members and preserve representative balance.

The results were as follows:

- The new president is Gerald Handler (Austria)
- The new vice-president is Karen Pollard (New Zealand)

• Outgoing (retiring) OC members: Conny Aerts (Belgium), Peter Martinez (South Africa), and Seetha Somasundaram (India)

• Continuing OC members: Tim Bedding (Australia), Márcio Catelan (Chile), Margarida Cunha (Portugal), Laurent Eyer (Switzerland), Simon Jeffery (Northern Ireland), Steven Kawaler (ex officio, USA), and Katalin Oláh (Hungary).

• New OC members: S. O. Kepler (Brazil), Katrien Kolenberg (Austria), and David Mkrtichian (Ukraine)

3. Other matters

The meeting concluded with those in attendance anticipating further science discussions related to activities of the C27 members. These were discussed during the full-day science/business session of Division V jointly between C27 and C42 (forming the Division V) on 6 August 2009.

Steven D. Kawaler President of the Commission