COMMISSION 21

LIGHT OF THE NIGHT SKY

LUMIÈRE DU CIEL NUCTURNE

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Bo A. S. Gustafson Adolf N. Witt Philippe Lamy Eli Dwek, Philippe Lamy, Richard C. Henry, Ingrid Mann

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS MEETING on 22 August 2006

1. New members

Applications have been received from Dr. Peter Wheatley (proposed by UK), Prof. Harald Schuh (proposed by Austria), and Dr. Busaba Kramer (proposed by Thailand). All applications were endorsed, with the caveat that Dr. Kramer's application needs to be endorsed by at least one of the other commissions since she has not a publication record in our field.

Members of the IAU who's names have been forwarded to the IAU Secretariat as new Commission 21 members by the outgoing president and therefore need no vote to join our Commission are: Dr. Munetaka Ueno (Japan), Dr. Akiko Nakamura (Japan), and Dr. Junichi Watanabe (Japan).

All new members were enthusiastically welcomed.

2. New officials

The EC proposed as officials of the Commission for the next triennium: president: Prof. Adolf Witt (USA); and vice-president: Dr. Jayant Murthy (India). The proposal was voted upon and unanimously endorsed.

3. Proposal for a future IAU Symposium of interest for Commission 20

Julio Fernández describes a proposal for a Symposium to be proposed for the next IAU General Assembly; the provisional title is "Icy bodies and the early solar system".

4. Organizing Committee

Discussions took into account the recommendation for a better geographical distribution made at the preceding business meeting (2003 GA in Sydney) and also the need for members with experience and knowledge about the commission's long term goals as a reorganization is contemplated. This led to the following proposal for composition of the OC for the coming triennium:

Dr. Ingrid Mann, Kobe University, Japan

Dr. Eli Dwek, NASA/GSFC, USA

Dr. Junichi Watanabe, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

Prof. Kalevi Mattila, University of Helsinki Observatory, Finland

Prof. Jack Baggaley, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand

Prof. Anny-Chantal Levasseur-Regourd, University of Paris VI, France

Prof. Bo Gustafson, University of Florida, USA.

The proposal was voted upon and endorsed.

5. Working Groups

Working groups established or continued at the 2003 Business Meeting in Sydney had not sent in reports although at least one organized a meeting. It was proposed that all past triennium working groups be terminated. It was further proposed to establish a working group to review the need for an update of the comprehensive review of the "Light of the Night Sky": "1997 Reference of Diffuse Night Sky Brightness" to be chaired by A.-Ch. Levasseur-Regourd. The proposal was voted upon an endorsed.

Bo A. S. Gustafson president of the Commission