

# THE AERONAUTICAL QUARTERLY

A JOURNAL DEVOTED TO AERONAUTICS AND THE ALLIED SCIENCES

Vol. XXVII

February 1976 Part 1

## **CONTENTS**

Flow Regimes over Delta Wings at Supersonic and Hypersonic Speeds	L C Squire	1
Turbulent Boundary Layer with Pressure Gradient Alternating in Sign	Y Tsuji and Y Morikawa	15
Large Deflection of Axisymmetrically Loaded Spherical Caps	C-Y Chia	29
Surface Heat Exchangers	R Le Claire	40
The Pressure at the Reattachment Point in Subsonic Two-Dimensional Steady Base Flow	M Tanner	55
Remarks on Unsteady Newtonian Flow Theory	G E Mahood and W H Hui	66
Reference-Plane Method for the Solution of Three-Dimensional Supersonic Flows	R Camarero	75

ROYAL AERONAUTICAL SOCIETY 4 HAMILTON PLACE, W1V 0BQ LONDON

## THE AERONAUTICAL QUARTERLY

### **Editorial Board**

Professor W A Mair, CBE, MA, FRAeS (Chairman)
Sir Arnold Hall, MA, FRS, HonFRAeS, HonFAIAA
Professor D W Holder, MA, FRS, FRAeS
Dr J H Horlock, MA, PhD, FRAeS
Lord Kings Norton, DSc, DIC, PhD, HonFRAeS, FAIAA
Professor D Küchemann, CBE, FRS, FRAeS
Sir Morien Morgan, CB, MA, FRS, FRAeS
Sir Alfred Pugsley, OBE, DSc, FRS, HonFRAeS
Professor S C Redshaw, DSc, PhD, FRAeS, FICE, FIStructE
Sir Owen Saunders, FRS, FRAeS
Professor W H Wittrick, ScD, PhD, FRAeS

Editor - Miss E C Pike, MA, FRAeS

### **Editorial Referees**

The high standard of papers published in The Aeronautical Quarterly is the result of the care and vigilance of many specialist referees. Hardly a paper is published that has not been improved by their suggestions and their contribution to the authors' work is often considerable. The Editorial Board and the Editor are pleased to acknowledge here, and to thank on the authors' behalf, the following specialists who have refereed papers during the past year.

Prof J H Argyris Dr A W Babister Dr A J Barrett Dr P W Bearman Mr E A Boyd Mr P Bradshaw Prof K N C Bray Prof D S Butler Dr J R Calvert Prof W D Carnegie Prof I C Cheeseman Prof J F Clarke Prof B L Clarkson Prof D J Cockrell Prof A R Collar Mr H L Cox Prof N Curle Mr H Daneshyar	Dr G A O Davies Dr R A East Mr H C Garner Dr J H Gerrard Mr E L Goldsmith Dr A J Grass Dr J E Green Mr K H Griffin Mr A B Haines Dr I M Hall Dr G Z Harris Dr A P Hatton Prof W S Hemp Dr C T Hewson Prof H G Hopkins Dr H P Horton Prof D S Houghton Prof N H Johannesen	Prof G M Lilley Dr E H Mansfield Prof H Marsh Dr D J Maull Dr R E Melnik Prof R D Milne Dr L S D Morley Dr D F Myring Prof B G Newman Dr R C Pankhurst Prof J H Preston Mr J Reid Prof K C Rockey Mr P L Roe Mr R H Sandifer Dr R A Sawyer Dr C C L Sells Dr A Simpson	Mr J H B Smith Dr P D Smith Dr D A Spence Dr L C Squire Prof J L Stollery Prof J T Stuart Mr I C Taig Dr D J Temperley Dr R M Terrill Dr J M T Thompson Dr C K Thornhill Prof F Walkden Prof G N Ward Mr E J Watson Dr J P H Webber Mr J Whitaker Dr L G Whitehead Dr C I Wood
Prof N Curle Mr H Daneshyar	Prof D S Houghton Prof N H Johannesen	Dr C C L Sells Dr A Simpson	Dr L G Whitehead Dr C J Wood
Dr D E Davies	Prof D J Johns	Prof A G Smith	Prof A D Young