The CQ Press Award honors the outstanding paper in legislative politics presented at the year's preceding APSA Annual Meeting. The 1987 winner honored was Glenn R. Parker of Florida State University for his 1986 APSA paper, "Is There a Political Life-Cycle in the House?" The prize was decided upon by an LSS committee chaired by Anne H. Hopkins of the University of Tennessee. Other members are Jon R. Bond, Texas A&M University, and Harold D. Clarke, VPI & SU.

In his award winning paper, Glenn R. Parker pointed out that congressional scholars have frequently characterized behavior of congressmen and senators as following a "political lifecycle": legislators shift their attention from constituency responsibilities to legislative ones as they gain leadership responsibilities during the course of their tenure. A major implication of the existence of such a cycle is that constituents suffer, at least in terms of the personal attention of their representative, when the legislator assumes a position of institutional leadership. If such a cycle exists, it could create persisting problems of representation since the attainment of positions of congressional leadership is a goal harbored by most members of Congress, and a large number of whom already hold such leadership positions. Parker's analysis suggests that if a political life cycle ever existed, it no longer survives due to the widespread adoption of attentive home styles during recent decades.

The CQ Press Award is given by the Legislative Studies Section each year to honor outstanding scholarship as reflected in the papers presented at each year's national meeting. Consideration for this prize is not limited to papers presented at panels organized by the Legislative Studies Section or at APSA Legislative Politics panels, but honors the best papers on legislative politics presented at any panel at the APSA meeting.

The 1988 CQ Press Award Committee is chaired by David Brady of Stanford University. Other members are John R. Hibbing of the University of Nebraska, and Keith E. Hamm of Texas A&M University.

The 1988 prize will be announced and conferred at the 1988 Awards Ceremony of the Legislative Studies Section held during and in conjunction with their Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington. It will honor the best paper in legislative politics delivered at the 1987 APSA Annual Meeting.

## Maisel, Longley and Collie To Lead Legislative Studies Section

At the Annual Business Meeting of the Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association in Chicago on September 4, 1987, officers were elected to lead the Section for 1987-89. The LSS Chair will be L. Sandy Maisel of Colby College, while the Secretary-Treasurer and Editor of the LSS Newsletter will continue to be Lawrence D. Longley of Lawrence University. Melissa P. Collie of the University of Texas will assume duties as LSS Program Chairman for the coming year, and Catherine E. Rudder of the American Political Science Association and Walter J. Stone of the University of Colorado will serve on the Section's Executive Board.

Other actions at the Legislative Studies Section Annual Meeting included approving steps taken to start a new LSS book series, and appointing Glenn R. Parker,



Glenn R. Parker was awarded the 1987 CQ Press Award by the Legislative Studies Section. Anne H. Hopkins of the University of Tennessee presented the award.

retiring LSS Chair, as Series Editor of the book project.

## No Richard F. Fenno Jr. Prize Given for 1987

The Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association announced in Chicago at the APSA Annual Meeting that the Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize for 1987 would not be awarded this year.

The Fenno Prize honors the outstanding book published during the preceding year in legislative studies, including American, non-American, cross-national, and subnational works.

The 1986 Fenno Prize was conferred jointly upon Gerhard Loewenberg, Samuel C. Patterson, and Malcolm E. Jewell for their work in editing *The Handbook of Legislative Research*, published by Harvard University Press.

Speaking on behalf of the 1987 Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize Committee, Chairman Randall B. Ripley, of Ohio State University, reported:

The committee to select the best book published on legislative politics during 1986 considered the nominations it received carefully. Many of these entries presented interesting work, both conceptual and empirical. Unfortunately, a number of the entries really were not about legislative politics. In fact, we observed with some dismay the small number of books appearing in this area once noted for its industry and productivity.

We concluded that, despite the strengths of some of the small number of books that were about legislative politics, none of them warranted the Fenno Award using stringent criteria. The committee members agreed that the winner should be a volume that was truly distinguished and made major advances in our substantive knowledge of legislative behavior, theories of legislative behavior, or appropriate methodology for furthering the understanding of legislative behavior. We think such high standards are the appropriate ones to use in honoring the work of Dick Fenno.

Other members of the 1987 Fenno Committee were Barbara Hinckley, University

of Wisconsin-Madison, and Leroy N. Rieselbach, Indiana University.

The Fenno competition for 1988 will include books published at any point during the 1987 calendar year, and will be judged by a Fenno Prize Committee made up of Allan Kornberg of Duke University, Chairman, and Diana Evans of Trinity College and Stephen Frantzich of the U.S. Naval Academy, Authors and others interested are invited to nominate outstanding 1987 books in legislative studies for the Fenno Prize by arranging for publishers to submit three copies of such works to the Fenno Prize Committee. One copy is to be sent to each member of the Committee listed above by March 1, 1988. Authors of prospective nominated books should consult with their publishers to ensure that copies are so sent. The 1988 Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize will be announced and conferred at the 1988 Awards Ceremony of the Legislative Studies Section held during and in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington.

The Fenno prize honors the outstanding scholarship of Richard F. Fenno, Jr. of the University of Rochester, the leading contemporary analyst of legislative studies and the 1984-85 President of the American Political Science Association.

## Parties Section Recognizes Contributions to the Field

The APSA Organized Section on Political Organizations and Parties presented several awards at the annual meeting for outstanding contributions to the field.

The Leon Epstein Award for best book was shared by Philip E. Converse (University of Michigan), Warren E. Miller (Arizona State University), Donald E. Stokes (Princeton University) and the late Angus Campbell, for their work, *The American Voter*. The award was presented by L. Sandy Maisel of Harvard University and Colby College.

The Garland Press Award for the best published article was shared by Robert J.