## CONGRESSIONAL FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM

# 2012–13 APSA Congressional Fellowship Program Office Assignments

ounded in 1953, the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program is the nation's oldest and most prestigious congressional fellowship. More than fifty years later, the program remains devoted to its original objective of expanding knowledge and awareness of Congress. For nine months, select political scientists, journalists, doctors, federal executives and international scholars gain "hands on" understanding of the legislative process by serving on congressional staffs. Through this unique opportunity, the Association enhances public understanding of policy-making and improves the quality of scholarship, teaching and reporting on American national politics. For more information about the program visit https://www.apsanet.org/cfp. The assignments for 2012–13 are listed below.

### **US HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES**

**Joshua Carstens Huder** Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN)

Jason E. Thomas Rep. Dan Benishek (R-MI)

**Scott Gutierrez** Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL)

Arlene Bierman Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA) and Department of Health & Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health

Maes Suwantra Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)

Kevin Wozniak Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA)

Amir Fairdosi Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

**Brooke Hollister** Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

Nicole Fletcher Rep. Charles Rangel (D-NY)

# **US SENATE**

Christopher A. Landberg Sen. Robert Menendez (D-NJ)

Bruce Edgren Sen. John D. Rockefeller, IV (D-WV)

Maureen Henry Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA)

Andrew Gettinger Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Ian Ostrander Sen. John McCaskill (D-MO)

### COMMITTEES

Barbara Damron Senate HELP Committee, Minority – Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

**Peter E. Sokolove** Senate Finance Committee, Majority

Erik Abjornson Senate Finance Committee – Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Melanie M. Marlowe House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

**Tyson King-Meadows** House Committee on the Judiciary, Minority

**Rebekah Grindlay** House Committee on Energy and Commerce, Majority

Harry J. Heiman House Energy and Commerce Committee, Minority

**Stephen Ferrara** House Energy and Commerce Committee, Majority

Karen B. Domino House Ways/Means, Minority

Kenneth Brummel-Smith Special Committee on Aging

# LEGISLATIVE BRANCH

Anthony J. Madonna Congressional Research Service, Government & Finance Division, Legislative & Budget Section

Hassan Tetteh Congressional Budget Office

## **EXECUTIVE BRANCH**

Emily Nicklett Centers for Disease Control

Christine Bishop Department of Health & Human Services, Offices of the Assistant Secretary for Planning & Evaluation, Disability, Aging & Long-term Care Policy

Susan Lynch Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Standards & Quality

Joan Penrod Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Service

Joan Davitt National Committee to Preserve Social Security & Medicare

**Christine Bishop** Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation

**Rajean Moone** Administration on Aging Minnesota Board of Aging

The Congressional Fellowship is supported by the generosity of MCI; American Australian Association; Atlantic Philanthropies Health and Aging Policy Fellows Program; The Asia Foundation; Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows; Central Intelligence Agency, Leadership Development Program; Department of State Career Development and Training; and the contributions of former fellows.