## MRS reports election results for 2018

www.mrs.org/governance

Members of the Materials Rsearch Society (MRS) have elected the 2018 vice president (who will serve as president in 2019) and five directors to join the 2018 MRS Board of Directors. The Board is composed of four elected officers and up to 18 board members, 15 of whom are elected by the membership. A fifth officer (treasurer) is appointed yearly.

The MRS Board of Directors is the highest governing body of MRS, responsible for establishing policy, monitoring progress of the Society toward its long-term goals, and setting the strategic directions for the major activities of the Society, including its meetings, publications, interactions with government agencies, and cooperative efforts with other professional societies throughout the world.

The officers of the Society are the president (who serves as chair of the Board), the vice president (who is also the president-elect), the secretary, the treasurer (a position appointed by the Board of Directors), and the immediate past president. All members of the Board, except the president, serve on one of seven Board Committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational and Strategic Oversight, and Planning.

Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (\*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended August 31, 2017.

# 2018 MRS OFFICERS

#### President

#### Sean J. Hearne

Sandia National Laboratories

### **Immediate Past President**

#### Susan Trolier-McKinstry

The Pennsylvania State University

#### **Vice President (President-Elect)**

#### \* Michael Fitzsimmons

Oak Ridge National Laboratory and The University of Tennessee

#### Secretary

#### Eric A. Stach

University of Pennsylvania

#### Treasurer

#### David J. Parrillo

The Dow Chemical Company

#### **Executive Director**

#### Todd M. Osman

Materials Research Society

## \* Griselda Bonilla (2020)

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

#### Li-Chyong Chen (2019)

National Taiwan University

#### Matt Copel (2018)

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

#### Paul S. Drzaic (2018)

Apple, Inc.

2018 MRS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

## Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines (2019)

Johns Hopkins University

#### Yury Gogotsi (2018)

Drexel University

#### Claudia E. Gutiérrez-Wing (2019)

Instituto Nacional de

Investigaciones Nucleares

#### Young-Chang Joo (2018)

Seoul National University

#### Lincoln J. Lauhon (2019)

Northwestern University

#### \* Paul McIntyre (2020) Stanford University

### ~ ·····

\* Christopher A. Schuh (2020)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

#### \* Rachel Segalman (2020)

University of California, Santa Barbara

#### **Magaly Spector (2018)**

The University of Texas at Dallas

#### Molly M. Stevens (2019)

Imperial College London

#### \* Ehrenfried Zschech (2020)

Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems

\*Newly elected.

# The International Conference on Nanofilms 2018 to be held March 20–22 www.ecnf2018.org

The International Conference on Nanofilms (ECNF) 2018 will be held March 20–22 in Cranfield, UK. The conference offers an opportunity to active researchers and industrialists to share the latest research and development work re-

lated to coatings and nanofilms developed by a wide range of processing techniques, including atomic layer deposition, chemical vapor deposition, molecular beam epitaxy, plasma and thermal spray, physical vapor deposition (evaporation, cathodic arc, sputtering, high-power impulse magnetron sputtering, and pulsed laser deposition), and sol-gel. The chairman is Jose L. Endrino of Cranfield University.

The main topics of the conference are protective and tribological coatings;



thin films for energy conversion, catalysis, and related processes; from atoms to sheets: growth and tribology of thin films; functionalization and characterization of nanofilms; two-dimensional materials: graphene and beyond; and sensors and instruments based on nanofilms. The opening plenary speaker is Amaia Zurutuza of Graphenea S.A., Spain.

In addition to the technical program, the conference offers an industrial panel breakfast meeting on the

present and future of surface engineering in Europe.

The abstract deadline is November **30.** Online registration begins December 1. More information can be found on the conference website at www.ecnf2018.org.

# 2018 SIAM Conference on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science to be held July 9–13 www.siam.org/meetings/ms18

The 2018 Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Conference on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science will be held July 9–13 in Portland, Ore., USA.

It is sponsored by the SIAM Activity Group on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science. The organizing committee co-chairs are Robert P. Lipton of Louisiana State University, USA, and Govind Menon of Brown University, USA. This conference focuses on interdisciplinary approaches that bridge mathematical and computational methods to the science and engineering of materials, including all electronic structure, atomistic simulation, microstructures, continuum descriptions, thermodynamics, kinetics, analytical methods, stochastic methods, and computational methods. The conference provides a forum to highlight significant

advances as well as critical or promising challenges.

The submission deadline for minisymposium proposals is November 30. The submission deadline for contributed lecture, poster, and mini-symposium presentation abstracts is January 18. The travel fund application deadline is January 19. Preregistration ends June 11. More information is available at www.siam.org/meetings/ms18.

