## What are Your Ideas? Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences and 2003

Can. J. Neurol. Sci. 2003; 30: 1-2

This year will mark the final year of my first term with the Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences (CJNS). The role has been a privilege and with the blessing of the Publications Committee of the Canadian Congress of Neurological Sciences, I hope to continue.

We have made some progress. Firstly, we continue to have a very dedicated and intelligent team behind CJNS that includes Sally Gregg, our Managing Director, Sue Impey, our Production Editor, and Myrna Gowing, the Adminstrative/Editorial Assistant. Without this team, CJNS would not exist. My collaboration with all remains enjoyable and very fruitful, day in and day out. A major effort accomplished was the substantial shortening of review times for submitted papers. While regular issues of CJNS continue to be published quarterly, we believe that authors benefit from more rapid decision making allowing a paper to be classified as "in press" rather than "submitted". As CJNS grows (and submissions are up substantially) we hope to publish more frequently, but not at the expense of manuscript quality. Our impact factor is slowly rising and currently exceeds that of most Canadian subspecialty journals. It can rise quite a bit further with your input. Considerations by those submitting work need not be limited by the current name of the journal. Some very highly ranked journals include geographical information in their name, including locations south and east of Canada. The message to authors is to send us your best work; CJNS has published, and continues to publish, high quality work from around the world and we welcome international submissions.

Some of our supplements will appear between regular issues of CJNS. Over the past year, we have worked with supplement editor Werner Becker to publish an important migraine supplement to CJNS and we are publishing, under the leadership

of Oksana Suchowersky, a comprehensive movement disorder supplement this year. This piece represents knowledge imparted by the movement disorders group during their annual courses for residents. It will be an extremely useful learning supplement for all readers of CJNS, particularly neurologists like myself who are not subspecialists in the area of movement disorders. An important point to emphasize is that all of our supplements continue to be peer-reviewed, a laborious process that nonetheless distinguishes CJNS from other supplement publishers.

Our external referees have shifted to our accelerated demands on their time with impressive dedication. They are the second main reason CJNS exists and I thank them for their service. In this issue, we list our external referees who helped in 2002.

We have more work to do to launch CJNS into the higher impact ranks of neurological and neuroscience journals where it belongs. In 2003, we will begin to publish our Canadian Association of Neurosciences review articles. We will make a major effort to capture more neuropathological conferences and we continue to encourage all residency programs to send them to us. In 2003, we will publish further exchange work with the Neurological Journal of Southeast Asia. We would like to include more neuroimaging highlights from centres around the world. Guidelines for authors considering submitting neuropathological conferences or neuroimaging highlights are now posted on the CJNS website.

Finally, and probably most importantly, we are now fully electronic and have an enthusiastic team under the leadership of Dr. Daniel Keene facilitating your continuing medical education through the new CJNS and CCNS websites.

Send us your best work and your ideas.

Douglas W. Zochodne Editor-in-Chief

## Thank you to our Reviewers

We are indebted to the expert referees who have reviewed submission to the Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences in 2002 (names in bold reviewed five or more papers). Their thoughtfulness and expertise has served our journal well.

Harold Adams Coleen Adams Eric Ahlskog **Duncan Anderson** Lee Ang Henry Barnett Werner Becker Robert Bell Brien Benoit Timothy Benstead\* Mark Bernstein Jose Biller Shawn Bird Sandra Black Julien Bogousslavsky Charles Bolton Vera Bril William Brown Robert Brownstone **Donald Brunet** Joseph Bruni Valentine Brussee Alastair Buchan Gregory Cairncross\* Donald Calne Peter Camfield Richard Camicioli Robin Casey Colin Chalk Linda Chang **Robert Chen** Howard Chertkow Sylvain Chouinard Fred Colbourne Paul Cooper Dale Corbett Bernard Corenblum Alain Dagher Andrew Demchuk Richard Desbiens\* Dennis Dickson Christopher Doig

Thomas Feasby Michael Fehlings Howard Feldman J. Max Findlay\* William Fletcher\* Peter Forsyth Mark Freedman Marvin Fritzler Sarah Furtado Serge Gauthier Marek J. Gawel Francois Grand' Maison Robert Griggs Alan Guberman Mark Guttman Anthony Hakim Mark Hallett Mohamed Hassan **Michael Hill** David Hogan Renn Holness\* Christopher Honey Robin Hsiung William Hu\* Mark Hudon\* R. John Hurlbert Alan Jackson\* Joe Jankovic Jack Jhamandas\* Mandar Jog Michael Jones Fabrice Joulia Anthony Kaufmann Andrew Kertesz Joep Killestein Michael King Andrew Kirk Zelma Kiss

Jeffrey Kleim

Bryan Kolb

David Knopman

Jeffrey Kordower

Robert Korneluk

Terrence Lagerlund

Douglas Kondziolka\*

Anne-Louise LaFontaine

Anthony Lang Robert G. Lee Stan Leung William J. Logan Andres Lozano\* Ami Mankodi Wayne Martin Warren P. Mason Edith McGeer Jeannette McGlone David McNeely Michel Melanson Ivar Mendez Luanne M. Metz Gyl Midroni Gerard Mohr William Morrish Dwight Moulin Richard Moulton S. Terence Myles\* Sukriti Nag Avi Nath Michael W. Nicolle John Norris John Noseworthy\* Brian O'Neill Andrew Parrent David Patry Christopher Patterson David Pelz James Perry Kenneth C. Petruk Stephen Phillips Neelan Pillay Christopher Power William Pryse-Phillips Allan Purdy Alexander Rajput David Ramsay\* Peter M. Richardson\*

Jan Schwab Shashi Seshia\* Kapil Sethi Michael Shevell\* Ashfaq Shuaib John Sladky Benn Smith Sian Spacey J. David Spence Richard Stein Paul Steinbok\* John D. Stewart A. Jon Stoessl\* Michael Strong Oksana Suchowersky Garnette Sutherland Mark Tarnopolsky Charles Tator Philip Teal Jeanne Teitelbaum J. Toole

Joseph Tsui Jean-Guy Villemure Harry Vinters Christopher Wallace Cheryl Waters Donald Weaver Norman Weinberger Brian Weinshenker Richard Wennberg Michael West Brian Wheelock Chris White\* Samuel Wiebe\* Eelco Wijdicks Robert Willinsky Peter Wong John Wong

W. Barrie Woodhurst Jerome Yager Frank Yatsu W. Yong G. Bryan Young Zonghang Zhao

Jean Rivest

James Rutka

Paul Sandor

Dessa Sadovnick

Philip Scheltens

Giovanni Schifitto

Andre Douen

Christopher Dowd

Pierre Duquette

John Edmeads

<sup>\*</sup> Editorial Board