NOTICES

The International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature has received the following **Applications**, which were published in the *Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature* **46** (2), 23 June 1989. Comment or advice on them would be welcomed, and comments would be published in the *Bulletin*.

Case no. 2657. Marssonopora Lang, 1914 (Bryozoa, Cheilostomata): proposed designation of Membranipora densispina Levinsen, 1925 as the type species.

Abstract. The purpose of this application is the designation of the nominal species Membranipora densispina Levinsen, 1925 as the type species of the Cretaceous bryozoan genus Marssonopora Lang, 1914, since the original type species (by monotypy), Cellepora dispersa v. Hagenow, 1839, was based on misidentified material. The proposed designation is in accordance with usage of the last 75 years.

Case no. 2403. Valanginites Sayn in Kilian, 1910 (Cephalopoda, Ammonoidea): confirmation of the author of the genus, and of Ammonites nucleus Roemer, 1841 as its type species.

Abstract. The purpose of this application is to confirm Sayn in Kilian, 1910 as the author of the Cretaceous ammonite genus *Valanginites*, and the current usage of *Ammonites nucleus* Roemer, 1841 as its type species, although the specific name was first introduced by Phillips in 1829.

The following **Opinions** were published recently in the *Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature*.

- Opinion no. 1536. Sorites Ehrenberg [1839] (Foraminiferida): Nautilus orbiculus Forsskål, 1775 designated as the type species.
- Opinion no. 1537. Discocyclina Gümbel, 1870 (Foraminiferida): Orbitolites pratii Michelin, 1847 designated as the type species.
- Opinion no. 1539. Conus floridanus Gabb, 1869 (Mollusca, Gastropoda): not to be given precedence over Conus anabathrum Crosse, 1865.
- Opinion no. 1540. Avicula gryphaeoides J. de C. Sowerby, 1836 (Mollusca, Bivalvia): specific name conserved.
- Opinion no. 1541. Loxoconchella Triebel, 1954 (Crustacea, Ostracoda): Loxoconcha honoluliensis Brady, 1880 confirmed as the type species.
- Opinion no. 1547. Silurus felis Linnaeus, 1766 (currently Ariopsis felis; Osteichthyes, Siluriformes): neotype designated.

- Opinion no. 1548. Sarotherodon melanotheron Rüppell, 1852 (Osteichthyes, Perciformes): specific name conserved
- Opinion no. 1561. Climacograptus manitoulinensis Caley, 1936 (currently Paraclimacograptus manitoulinensis; Graptolithina): specific name conserved.
- Opinion no. 1566. Megaloceros Brookes, 1828 (Mammalia, Artiodactyla): original spelling emended.

Call for nominations for new members of the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature

The following members of the Commission reach the end of their terms of service at the close of the XXIV General Assembly of the International Union of Biological Sciences to be held in Amsterdam, in July 1991: Dr H. G. Cogger (Australia, Herpetology); Prof. Dr O. Kraus (Fed. Rep. Germany, Arachnology); Dr M. Mroczkowski (Poland, Coleoptera); Dr W. D. L. Ride (Australia, Mammalia). A further vacancy arises from the resignation of Dr G. C. Gruchy (Canada, Ichthyology).

The addresses and specialist fields of the present members of the Commission may be found in the Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature, 46 (1) (March 1989). Under Article 3b of the Commission's Constitution a member whose term of service has terminated is not eligible for immediate re-election unless the Council of the Commission has decided to the contrary.

The Commission now invites nominations, by any person or institution, of candidates for membership. Article 2b of the Constitution prescribes that:

'The members of the Commission shall be eminent scientists, irrespective of nationality, with a distinguished record in any branch of zoology, who are known to have an interest in zoological nomenclature.'

(It should be noted that 'zoology' here includes the applied biological sciences (medicine, agriculture, etc.) which use zoological names.)

Nominations made since September 1987 will be reconsidered automatically and need not be repeated. Additional nominations, giving the date of birth, nationality and qualifications (by the criteria mentioned above) of each candidate should be sent by 15 June 1990 to: The Executive Secretary, International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature, c/o British Museum (Natural History), Cromwell Road, London SW7 5BD, U.K.