Benjamin Evans Lippincott Award in Political Theory

The Council of the Association has established a Benjamin Evans Lippincott Award in Political Theory. The award, to be granted annually, will seek to encourage works of scholarship in political theory that have long term significance and to recognize similar works in related fields that contribute to political theory. It will be made to a living political theorist whose work is considered of exceptional quality after a time span of at least fifteen years since the original date of publication.

The \$1,500 award was made possible by a generous gift from Dr. Benjamin E. Lippincott of the University of Minnesota. The first award will be made at the 1975 Annual Meeting. Individuals wishing to submit nominations should write to the APSA Executive Director for a fact sheet on the award.



Benjamin Evans Lippincott University of Minnesota

Charles E. Merriam Centennial

1974 is the centennial of the birth of the distinguished political scientist and APSA President Charles E. Merriam. The Association's President, Avery Leiserson, a student of Merriam, has deemed the centennial as an appropriate occasion to recognize Merriam and his contributions to the discipline and the profession.

The 1974 Annual Meeting is being held in Chicago where Merriam served on the faculty of the University of Chicago for forty years and a



Charles E. Merriam

plenary session on "Charles E. Merriam's Impact on Political Science: Creative and Problematic Aspects" will be included in the Annual Meeting program on Saturday evening, August 31. Described in detail in the preliminary program section of this issue of *PS*, the plenary session participants will include a number of distinguished students of Merriam: C. Herman Pritchett, David B. Truman, Gabriel A. Almond, Charles E. Lindbloom, William T. R. Fox, and Harold D. Lasswell. Barry Karl, who is authoring a biography of Merriam to be published in the fall, will also participate in the plenary session.

One final aspect of the Merriam Centennial will be a dutch treat lunch at the Annual Meeting on Saturday, August 31, to which students, friends, and admirers of Merriam are invited. It is expected that plans for an APSA Charles E. Merriam Award will be announced at the lunch. For details on the lunch and reservations, write to J. David Greenstone, Chairman, Department of Political Science, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 60637.

Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

The Association has received grants from the Asia Foundation and the Institute of International Education to provide limited assistance to visiting foreign national political scientists and advanced graduate students wishing to attend the 1974 APSA Annual Meeting in Chicago. For details on the two grant programs and application forms, write to the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.