### AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW

SEPTEMBER 1990 VOLUME 84 NUMBER 3

#### MANAGING EDITOR

#### Samuel C. Patterson

Department of Political Science Ohio State University, 112 Derby Hall Columbus, Ohio 43210–1373

#### **BOOK REVIEW EDITOR**

#### Helen M. Ingram

Department of Political Science University of Arizona, Social Sciences 315 Tucson, Arizona 85721

#### **EDITORIAL BOARD**

Gregory A. Caldeira Ohio State University

Pamela J. Conover University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

> Matthew Holden, Jr. University of Virginia

Robert Jervis Columbia University

Malcolm E. Jewell University of Kentucky

Charles O. Jones University of Wisconsin, Madison

Mary Ann Kasofsky Shannon K. Smithey APSR Interns

Sharon E. Heinrich Editorial Assistant Donald R. Kinder University of Michigan

Anthony King University of Essex

Allan Kornberg Duke University

Arend Lijphart University of California, San Diego

Gerhard Loewenberg University of Iowa Thomas E. Mann Brookings Institution

Robert H. Salisbury Washington University

**Arlene W. Saxonhouse** University of Michigan

Elaine B. Sharp University of Kansas

Kenneth A. Shepsle Harvard University

Randolph Siverson University of California, Davis

Christine M. Harrington Associate Editor

> Michael K. Lane Copy Editor

Rachel Quenk Assistant Book Review Editor

> J. Steven Brundage Book Review Intern

John Audley Book Review Assistant

The American Political Science Review (ISSN-0003-0554) appears in March, June, September, and December of each year. It is published by the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036, and sent to all members. Dues: Regular Members with income: under \$20,000, \$40; \$20,000-\$29,000, \$50; \$30,000-39,999, \$65; \$40,000 and over, \$75; Student Members (limited to 5 years); \$15; Retired Members, \$20; Life Members, \$2,000;

Institutional Members, \$100. Dues allocated for a subscription to the *APSR*: \$10 for individual members. \$80 for institutional members. Changes of address sent to the Membership Secretary of the APSA. Postmaster: Please send notification regarding undelivered journals to address above. Second-class postage paid at Washington, D.C. and at additional mailing offices. Copyright © 1990 by The American Political Science Association.

# AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW CONTENTS

,

Nuclear Myths and Political Realities		=0.4
Kenneth N. Waltz	• • • • •	731
Domestic Opposition and Foreign War		545
Bruce Bueno de Mesquita & David Lalman	• • • • •	747
The Political Manipulation of Macroeconomic Policy		
John T. Williams	• • • • •	767
Buying Time: Moneyed Interests and the Mobilization of Bias		
in Congressional Committees		=0=
Richard L. Hall & Frank W. Wayman	• • • • •	797
Soviet Citizen Participation on the Eve of Democratization		
Donna Bahry & Brian D. Silver	,	821
The Tinpot and the Totalitarian: An Economic Theory of Dictatorship		
Ronald Wintrobe	• • • •	849
Coalitions and Cabinet Government		
Michael Laver & Kenneth A. Shepsle		873
Stable Governments and the Allocation of Policy Portfolios		
David Austen-Smith & Jeffrey Banks		891
The Agony of Politics: The Nietzschean Roots of Foucault's Thought		
Leslie Paul Thiele		907
Concrete Theory: An Emerging Political Method		
Ruth Lane		927
BOOK REVIEWS		
Advances in Public Policy		951
Political Theory		960
American Politics		982
Comparative Politics		
International Relations		1051

## QUARTERLY JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

SEPTEMBER 1990 VOLUME 84 NUMBER 3

i

# AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

PRESIDENT:
Judith N. Shklar
Harvard University

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Theodore J. Lowi Cornell University

VICE-PRESIDENTS:

Robert H. Bates
Duke University

Nannerl Keohane Wellesley College

Michael Preston University of Southern California

SECRETARY:
M. Crawford Young
University of Wisconsin

TREASURER:
David Brady
Stanford University
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:

Catherine E. Rudder

PROGRAM CHAIR: Jane Mansbridge

Northwestern University

MANAGING EDITOR, APSR:

Samuel C. Patterson Ohio State University COUNCIL, 1988-90: Christopher Achen University of Chicago

Kathleen Frankovic CBS News, New York City

Peter A. Gourevitch University of California, San Diego

Ted Robert Gurr University of Maryland

Ronald Kahn Oberlin College

Barbara J. Nelson University of Minnesota

Adolph Reed, Jr. Yale University

**Donald Searing** *University of North Carolina* 

COUNCIL, 1989-91: Charles Bullock University of Georgia Gregory Caldeira

Ohio State University

James A. Caporaso

University of Washington

Kay Lawson
San Francisco State University

Michael Lipsky
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sandy Maisel
Colby College
Judith Stiehm

Florida International University

Ronald Walters Howard University by Fenton Martin and Robert Goehlert Third Edition Revised and Expanded

A definitive guide to the journals that publish articles in political science. *Political Science Journal Information* describes the fields of research, as well as the specific review, manuscript preparation, and publication processes of these journals. This guide is an important reference for scholars and students.



Fenton Martin Librarian, Political Science Research Collection Indiana University

and

Robert Goehlert
Librarian for Economics and Political Science

THE AMPRICAN FOLDING IL CCIPNOS ACCOCIATION

#### ORDER FORM – Political Science Journal Information

Please send me \_\_\_\_\_copy(ies) of *Political Science Journal Information* at:

\$18 for APSA members \$25 for non-members

and \$2.50 ea. copy for postage and handling.

I am enclosing \$\_\_\_\_\_ or charging \$\_\_\_\_\_ to my \ \textsty \ \texts

Signature

Name

Address

Address\_\_\_\_\_\_\_City/State/Zip

Return this order to: **Publications/APSA** 

1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036