## 1980 Annual Meeting

The 1980 Annual Meeting of the Association will be held. Thursday, August 28 through Sunday, August 31 at the Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington, D.C. The Program Chairperson for the Meeting is Jack Dennis, University of Wisconsin, Madison. An announcement of the program including descriptions of the sections was published in the Fall *PS*. The complete preliminary program and other information on the 1980 Annual Meeting will be published in the Spring *PS*.

Pursuant to the action of the Council at its August 28, 1979 meeting (see Council minutes in this issue of *PS*) participation at the 1980 Annual Meeting will be governed by the following resolution:

Each person participating in the Annual Meeting Program (including courtesy listings as well as the official program) as a chair, paper giver, or discussant is required to preregister for the meeting. All participants who are not members of the Association are urged to become members.

It is understood that persons listed in the preliminary program will preregister before July 1. Persons not registered by July 1 will not be listed in the final program.

The APSA Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession and the Committee on Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom will cosponsor a panel at the 1980 Annual Meeting on "Survival Politics: What to Do Once You Get a Job." The panelists will discuss how to main-

tain an effective personnel file, both for "job protection" and for building a record for reappointment, promotion, and tenure decisions; other suggested means for career development; do's and don'ts; protections in the event a negative decision has been made. Those interested in appearing on the panel (providing tips for succeeding as an academician, describing good procedures for evaluation of performance, or relating a personal "horror story") should contact either co-chairperson: Martin Gruberg, Department of Political Science, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Wisconsin 54901; or Barbara Calloway, Office of the Provost, Rutgers University, Newark, New Jersev 07102.

## William P. Robinson, Sr. Honored

William P. Robinson, Sr., professor of political science at Norfolk State University, former member of the APSA Council and the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession and a member of the Virginia House of Delegates was recently honored by the Association and its Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession. Among those attending and speaking at the ceremony in Norfolk were Harrison B. Wilson, President of Norfolk State University; E. Wally Miles, San Diego State University and Chairperson of the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession; Maurice Woodard and Walter E. Beach, American Political Science Association; Robert E. Martin, Howard University, Emeritus; and Ru-



Award ceremony honoring Dr. William P. Robinson, Sr., in Norfolk, Virginia, November 17, 1979. L to R front row: Robert E. Martin, Howard University; Maurice C. Woodard, Howard University and APSA; second row: E. Wally Miles, San Diego State University and Chairperson, APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks: Hon, William P. Robinson, Sr., Norfolk State University and the Virginia House of Delegates; William P. Robinson, Jr., attorney; third row: Walter E. Beach, APSA; Rudolph Gordon, Norfolk State University; and Harrison B. Wilson, President, Norfolk State University. dolph Gordon, Chairperson, Norfolk State University. Many representatives from political science departments from Norfolk area colleges and universities also attended the ceremony. Among the honors presented Dr. Robinson were a plaque from the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession and a citation from APSA President Warren E. Miller which read as follows:

"The American Political Science Association Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession takes pride in paying tribute to the Honorable William P. Robinson, Sr. As a scholar, teacher, leader in the profession of political science and member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Dr. Robinson has effectively, skillfully and thoughtfully contributed to the development of knowledge, to institutions and organizations of higher learning, and the well-being of the State of Virginia, while also inspiring the affection and admiration of students and colleagues.

"The American Political Science Association joins with the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession in recognizing the accomplishments of William P. Robinson, Sr."

# Political Scientist College and University Presidents and Chancellors—Addendum

**PS** is publishing this further list of political scientist college and university presidents and chancellors. Other additions will be welcomed.

## Current

Donald F. Bletz, Wilson College

#### Carey Brewer, Lynchburg College

- Joseph N. Crawley, University of Nevada, Reno
- William P. Gerberding, University of Washington, Seattle (formerly University of Illinois, Urbana)
- Nelson P. Guild, Frostburg State College
- Donna E. Shalala, Hunter College (effective September 1980)
- John U. Tomlinson, Mesa College
- Gregory B. Wolfe, Florida International Univer sity (formerly Portland State University)



L to R: President Jimmy Carter and Dr. Donna E. Shalala, Assistant Secretary for Policy Development and Research, Department of Housing and Urban Development, and President-Elect of Hunter College.



L to R: William P. Gerberding, President of the University of Washington, and Donald R. Matthews, Chairperson, Department of Political Science, University of Washington.