Series had been continued with three new titles published in 1975, one further volume already printed, and two more in the press; two further manuscripts had been accepted, and others were under consideration. The Board was concerned that the small number of French and German volumes in the series had not achieved sales comparable to the English volumes, and steps were being taken to find fresh outlets in France and Germany. The Press were now willing to consider cheaper methods of production. In the meantime transliteration of Greek and Hebrew would be used when possible to reduce costs. Professor C. Martini was elected to the Editorial Board for four years in place of the Abbé Carmignac, retiring.

The society was entertained at a reception by the Principal of the University, Dr Edward Wright, on 27 August. On 29 August a number of members took part in an excursion to Crathes Castle, Aboyne and Craigievar and Drumminor Castles.

The Society's Thirty-first General Meeting will be held at Duke University, North Carolina, U.S.A., from 16 to 20 August 1976. All members of the Society who attend the meeting at Duke University will also be invited to attend the meeting of the Catholic Biblical Association of America to be held in Pittsburgh from 23 to 26 August 1976.

R. S. BARBOUR

## OBITUARY

We regret to record the deaths of Professor H. J. Cadbury, Professor Dr E. Haenchen, Professor Dr W. Foerster, Professor Dr K. Th. Schäfer, Professor Dr J. Schmid and the Rev. Professor M. Zerwick, S.J.

## OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE MEMBERS 1975-6

President: Professor F. F. Bruce, The University, Manchester, England.

Secretary: The Rev. Professor R. S. Barbour, King's College, Old Aberdeen, Scotland.

Treasurer: The Rev. Canon Dr R. J. Hammer, The Queen's College, Somerset Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, England.

Assistant Secretary: The Rev. Dr Barnabas Lindars, S.S.F., The Divinity School, St John's Street, Cambridge, England.

## Committee Members

Professor M. Black, Professor Dr F. Bovon, Professor W. D. Davies, Professor J. Fitzmyer, Professor L. Hartman, Professor Dr K. Kertelge, Professor F. Neirynck, Professor P. Pokorný, Professor B. Rigaux, Professor R. McL. Wilson.