## From the Editor

# 2016 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the seventh annual *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards competition. These awards honor innovative microscopy–related products and methods that appeared in the previous year.

Our team of judges, led by Tom Kelly, looked for innovations that will make new scientific investigations possible. The ten winning innovations were selected on the basis of their importance and usefulness to the microscopy community. The entries most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, or entirely new methods of analysis using some type of microscope or microanalytical instrument.

The 2016 Microscopy Today Innovation Award winners are:

Brookhaven and Argonne National Laboratories for a new hard x-ray scanning microscope Excelitas Technologies for the X-Cite® TURBO with LaserLED Hybrid Drive™ illuminator Leica Microsystems for the TCS SP8 DLS Confocal Microscope with light sheet illumination Nanojehm, Inc. for the SEM Aura Work Station with image sharpening software Oak Ridge National Laboratory for G-mode microscopy and spectroscopy in SPM systems Scientifica Ltd for SciScan software that automates laser scanning microscopes Technical Manufacturing Corporation for the Everstill™ K-400 vibration cancellation system Vision Engineering, Inc. for the Lynx EVO eyepiece-less stereo microscope Yale University for the speckle-free semiconductor laser enabling high-speed imaging Carl Zeiss Microscopy for the Stemi 305 with Labscope Wi-Fi networking system

Descriptions of the above innovations are given in an article within this issue. This article also lists the developers of these methods.

Details of the nomination process for the next competition will be posted on the *Microscopy Today* website (www.microscopy-today.com) by January 1, 2017. Nomination applications will be accepted through March 21, 2017.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

*Microscopy Today* is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the *Microscopy Today* website: www.microscopy-today.com.

#### ISSN 1551-9295

#### Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2016 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



#### **Editorial Staff**

Charles E. Lyman, Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor randerson 20@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Robert Price, Associate Editor bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Eric Clark, Pioneers Editor eclark@magnet.fsu.edu

Steven Barlow, Education Editor sbarlow@mail.sdsu.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

E. Ann Ellis, *Microscopy 101 Editor* eann.ellis@suddenlink.net

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor pwebster@usc.edu

John Shields, Humor Editor jpshield@uga.edu

Nikolaus Cordes, Digital Content Editor ncordes@lanl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Awards Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

#### **Advertising Sales**

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Kelly Miller, Account Manager kmiller@mrvica.com

#### Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available

#### **Publisher**

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

### **Editorial Board**

Arlan Benscoter, Lehiah University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY lan Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Paul Voyles, University of Wisconsin Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)