BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

VOL 2 June, 1956 No. 14

(Published June 1957)

CONTENTS

| | |] | Page |
|---|-----------------|-----|------|
| REPORT OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR 1955-56 | | | 41 |
| Accounts for the Year ending 31st March, 1956 | *** | *** | 42 |
| REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE PHILOSOPHY OF SO | GROUF AR 195 | | 43 |
| Reviews | | | 44 |

BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

VOL. 2 JUNE, 1956 No. 14

(Published June 1957)

CONTENTS

| | | Page |
|--|----|------|
| REPORT OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE YEAR 1955-56 | | 41 |
| Accounts for the Year ending 31st March, 1956 | •• | 42 |
| REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUTHE YEAR 19 | | |
| Reviews | | 44 |

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL 1956-57

PRESIDENT

Professor Herbert Dingle

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Dr. Angus Armitage Dr. H. Heywood Thomas Martin, Esq. Prof. E. G. R. TAYLOR Dr. H. HAMSHAW THOMAS, M.B.E., F.R.S. Dr. G. J. WHITROW

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Ravensmead, Keston, Kent.

HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. H. R. CALVERT

EDITOR (Bulletin)

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

A. H. G. Alston, Esq. J. A. Chaldecott, Esq.

J. A. CHALDECOTT, Esq. Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Mrs. J. M. EYLES

Dr. Dorothy Feyer Prof. J. R. Partington, M.B.E. Dr. D. J. PRICE Prof. L. ROSENFELD

Dr. MARGARET ROWBOTTOM Dr. J. F. Scott

Dr. Charles Singer Dr. J. O. Wisdom

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN

Dr. G. J. WHITROW

VICE-CHAIRMEN

Prof. H. DINGLE Prof. J. H. WOODGER Prof. R. K. POPPER L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN

EDITOR (British Journal for the Philosophy of Science)

Dr. J. O. WISDOM

London School of Economics, London, W.C.2

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE Prof. R. O. KAPP

Dr. A. W. STONIER

Dr. W. MAYS (representing Northern Branch) R. F. J. WITHERS, Esq. (Finance Officer).

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £3 3s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year. Members of the Society receive Annals of Science and the Society's Bulletin

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the Group may obtain the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science for the reduced annual subscription of £1 2s. 0d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society.