

with colleagues and counterparts in the United States; and build ties with a global network of democracy advocates.

This program is intended primarily to support practitioners and scholars from developing and aspiring democracies; distinguished scholars from established democracies are also eligible to apply. Projects may focus on the political, social, economic, legal, and cultural aspects of democratic development and may include a range of methodologies and approaches. More information can be found online at www.ned.org/fellowships/reagan-fascell-democracy-fellows-program.

# Mellon International Dissertation Research Fellowship: Apply Now!

### ABOUT THE FELLOWSHIP

The IDRF program supports the next generation of scholars in the humanities and humanistic social sciences pursuing research that advances knowledge about non-US cultures and societies. The program is open to a range of methodologies, including research in archives and manuscript collections, fieldwork and surveys, and quantitative data collection.

### **ELIGIBILITY**

The program is open to graduate students in the humanities and humanistic social sciences—regardless of citizenship—enrolled in PhD programs in the United States. Applicants must complete all PhD requirements except onsite research by the time the fellowship begins. Proposals that identify the United States as a case for comparative inquiry are welcome; however, proposals which focus predominantly or exclusively on the United States are not eligible.

### FELLOWSHIP TERMS

The IDRF program provides support for 9–12 months of dissertation research. Fellowship amounts vary depending on the research plan, with a per-fellowship average of \$21,000. Learn more at www.ssrc. org/fellowships/idrf-fellowship.

The IDRF program is funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Deadline: November 7, 2017. ■

# Call for Nominations and Applications for Editor of *Political Behavior*

Michael Martinez, chair of APSA Organized Section on Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior (EPOVB), has appointed a search committee to select a new editor for the section's affiliated journal, *Political Behavior*. Published by Springer, the journal receives approximately 400 manuscript submissions per year, publishes four issues per year, and has a five-year Impact Factor of 2.6.

The search committee invites nominations and applications for the editorship of *Political Behavior*. The incoming editor will succeed current editor David Peterson, whose term will end on December 31, 2018. The new editor will serve a renewable four-year term, from January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2022. The search committee welcomes both individual editor and editorial team candidacies.

Nominations and applications for the editorship of *Political Behavior* should be sent via e-mail to the search committee chair, Cindy Kam, Vanderbilt University (e-mail: cindy.d.kam@vanderbilt.edu).

To learn more, read the full call online at http://www.apsanet.org/PUBLICATIONS/About-APSA-Journals/Organized-Section-Journals.

To ensure full consideration, applications must be submitted by **January 1, 2018**. The committee will work closely with the Springer to make every effort to select the new editor by May 1, 2018.



## In the Next Issue...

#### **SPOTLIGHT**

Home Rule Be Damned: Exploring Policy Conflicts between the Statehouse and City Hall Carol Weissert and William Hicks, guest editors

### **POLITICS SYMPOSIA**

Advancing Philanthropic Scholarship: The Implications of Transformation Kathryn Webb Farley, guest editor

Explaining Political Protest across Countries: A Profile of the Transnational Protester Francesca Vassallo, guest editor

### **PROFESSION SYMPOSIUM**

Academics in the Arena: Pedagogical Perspectives from Political Scientists Who Have Served in Elected Office Mathew Manweller and David Lublin, guest editors

**Below:** Scholars attend the 2017 Ralph Bunche Summer Institute. **Top row left to right:** Pamela Ortega, Sydney Carr, Erica Wheeler, Preston Parrish, Kangkana Koli, Diana Pavon, Rebecca Gonzalez, and Angie Torres. **Bottom row left to right:** Kamri Hudgins, Andre Ross, Avery D. Pearl, Joan Joseph, Monique Newton, and Rodolfo Solis.

