Nominations Accepted for the 2015 APSA Officers and Council, Awards, and Committees

Officers and Council

he APSA Nominating Committee welcomes your suggestions for 2015 nominees for president-elect, vice president, secretary, and council member. Council members serve staggered twoyear terms. The president-elect, vice presidents, and secretary serve one-year terms. The nominating committee encourages all members of APSA to suggest fellow members for consideration. Those wishing to do so should explain why they believe the person's accomplishments, background, and views would make them a good choice for a leadership position. The nominating committee hopes to nominate a slate of accomplished scholars and practitioners who reflect the diverse membership of APSA. To achieve this goal, they rely on the membership to forward suggestions and recommendations. Please send suggestions to nominations@apsanet.org by January 16, 2015. Visit www.apsanet.org/nominations for more information.

The committee will meet in early 2015 to begin compiling a slate of candidates. A report will be published in the July 2015 issue of PS.

Awards

ubmit your nominations for the APSA Goodnow, Dissertation, Book, Paper and Article, and Career Awards, which will be presented at the 2015 Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California. For more information, visit www.apsanet. org/content_2951.cfm. The 2015 awards include:

GOODNOW AWARD

Awarded to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to both the development of the political science profession and the building of the American Political Science Association. Nominations are due by March 13, 2015.

DISSERTATION AWARDS

Departments are invited to submit nominations for dissertations that have been completed in the past two academic years. Nominations are due by January 16, 2015.

Gabriel A. Almond Award

In the field of comparative politics

William Anderson Award

In the field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state, or local politics

Edward S. Corwin Award

In the field of public law

Harold D. Lasswell Award

In the field of policy studies

Helen Dwight Reid Award

In the field of international relations, law, and politics

E. E. Schattschneider Award

In the field of American government

Leo Strauss Award

In the field of political philosophy

Leonard D. White Award

In the field of public administration

BOOK AWARDS

Books published in 2014 may be nominated by individuals or publishers. The deadline for nominations from individuals is January 16, 2015. The deadline for nominations from publishers is February 13, 2015.

Ralph J. Bunche Award

For the best scholarly work in political science that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

For the best political science publication in the field of U.S. national policy

Victoria Schuck Award

For the best book published on women and politics

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award

For the best book published in the United States in the field of government, politics, or international affairs

PAPER AND ARTICLE AWARDS

Nominations are due by November 28, 2014.

Frankin L. Burdette / Pi Sigma Alpha Award

For the best paper presented at the previous Annual Meeting.

Heinz Eulau Award

For the best articles published in the American Political Science Review and Perspectives on Politics during the previous year

CAREER AWARDS

Bestowed for significant achievements related to political science. Nominations are due by January 30, 2015.

APSA Distinguished Teaching Award

To honor outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions. The award recognizes contributions that have made a significant impact on the manner in which political science is taught or individual career contributions.

John Gaus Distinguished Award and Lectureship

Honors the recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

Awarded annually in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Benjamin E. Lippincott Award

Awarded biennially to recognize a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that is still considered significant after a time span of at least 15 years since the original date of publication.



RBSI 2014 participants: Front Row (L to R): Alivia Pinnix, Hadill Calderon, Mercedz Austin, Ashley Huddson, Alicia Reyes-Barrientez (staff), Gloria Ayee (staff); Third Row (L to R): Rachel Russell, Jasmine Noel, Angelica Loyd, Jessica Carew (staff); Second Row (L to R): Jacqueline Tello (staff), Philip Menard, Ariam Kiflemariam, Elizabeth Jordan Davies, Fritz Bondoa, Sequoia Baker Top Row (L to R): Victoria Dounoucos (staff), Doris C. Cross (Assistant to the Director), Taneisha Means (staff), Paula Mc-Clain (RBSI Director).

Carey McWilliams Award

Awarded annually to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Charles E. Merriam Award

Awarded biennially to recognize a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research.

Committee Nominations

PSA president-elect Jennifer Hochschild welcomes suggestions from members of various APSA standing committees for 2015. Typically, members of the standing committees serve a staggered three-year term, and members of the awards committees serve a one-year term.

Send suggestions to nominations@apsa. org by January 16, 2015. Visit www.apsanet. org/nominations for more information.

Briefs

2014 RBSI Program Concludes

he 2014 Ralph Bunche Summer Institute (RBSI) program was held at Duke University June 2–July 3, 2014. APSA president John Aldrich and APSA executive director Steven Rathgeb Smith attended the closing event on July 2, 2014. A group of the 2014 RBSI class presented their final research papers in poster form at the 2014 APSA Annual Meeting.

Minority Fellows' Institutions Announced

s part of the APSA Minority Fellows Program, we announce the graduate schools that the 2014–2015 APSA Minority Fellows will attend. Noted here are the students, their undergraduate institution, and their graduate institution (noted in *italic*):

Elias Assaf, University of Central Florida; *The Ohio State University*

Alvie Coes III, Georgia Southern University; *TBA*

Justine Davis, Elon University, American University of Paris (MA); *University of* California, Berkeley

Garland Doyle, Wayne State University, Eastern Michigan University (MPA); Wayne State University

Maraam Dwidar, University of California, Davis; *University of Texas-Austin*

Liana Gonzalez, Texas A&M University; *Texas A & M University*

Erica Lee, Howard University; New York University (MA); TBA

Eden Mesfun, Rutgers University; University of Kent (MA)

N'Kosi Oates, University of Delaware; TBA Mariah Prensa, SUNY Buffalo State; SUNY Stony Brook (MA)

Sergio Sanchez, University of Maryland, University College; California State University, Chico (MA); *TBA*

Briana Vargas-Gonzalez, Brevard Community College; University of Central Florida; *TBA*