

IPA NEWS

ELECTIONS 2023

IPA Council

Elections were held early in 2023 to choose twenty members of the Association's Council to serve from 2023 to 2027. With 186 members voting, the following nominees were elected: Amalia Arvaniti Michael Ashby Patricia Ashby Patrice Beddor Mariapaola D'Imperio Gerard Docherty John Esling Janet Fletcher Marc Garellek Matthew Gordon Sun-Ah Jun Patricia Keating Ghada Khattab Ailbhe Ní Chasaidhe Katerina Nicolaidis Oliver Niebuhr Francis Nolan Daniel Recasens Jane Setter Adrian Simpson

Maria-Josep Solé Marija Tabain

A 3-way tie in 20th position led to 22 names emerging from the ballot. In line with precedents set in 2011 and 2015, the IPA Executive Council agreed to appoint 22 Councillors at Stage 1 and to amend the stage 2 ballot to focus on the election of a further 8 Councillors.

As per the IPA statutes, the Council-elect subsequently elected 8 additional members who will also serve from 2023-27: Plinio Almeida Barbosa Ioana Chitoran Sónia Frota Mária Gósy James Kirby Alexei Kochetov Wai-Sum Lee Alexis Michaud

Permanent Council for the ICPhS

In early 2023, a separate election was held to choose seven IPA-elected representatives to the Permanent Council for the Organization of the International Congress of Phonetic Sciences, to serve from 2023 to 2031. With 186 members voting, the following nominees were elected: Michael Ashby Mariapaola D'Imperio Gerard Docherty

Journal of the International Phonetic Association (2023) 53/3 doi:10.1017/S0025100323000336

© The Author(s), 2024. Published by Cambridge University Press on hehalf of the International Phonetic Association John Esling Janet Fletcher Katerina Nicolaidis Marija Tabain

We thank all the candidates who agreed to stand for these elections.

IPA Executive Committee

In July 2023, the new IPA Council elected the following Executive Committee members to serve from 2023 to 2027: Katerina Nicolaidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (President) Sónia Frota, University of Lisbon (Vice-President) Oliver Niebuhr, University of Southern Denmark (Secretary) Ghada Khattab, Newcastle University (Treasurer) Marija Tabain, La Trobe University (Editor).

The President, Katerina Nicolaidis, and the Vice-President, Sónia Frota, will also serve as exofficio members of the Permanent Council for the Organisation of the International Congress of Phonetic Sciences. Due to this, their positions on the Permanent Council become available to be filled by candidates elected by the IPA membership. Based on the results of the aforementioned IPA election held in early 2023, these positions will be filled by Didier Demolin and Lisa Davidson. Immediate past-President, Amalia Arvaniti, remains a member of the Permanent Council by virtue of having been elected for a full 8-year term in 2019.

Gerard Docherty

Secretary