Announcements

Best Dissertation on the Presidency Prize

The Center for Presidential Studies in the George Bush School of Government and Public Service announces the second annual national competition for the best dissertation on the American presidency. The competition is open to scholars in any field, and dissertations may focus on any aspect of the presidency. Nominations may be made by chairs of dissertation committees or other faculty members.

The winners will receive a \$1,000 award and have their expenses paid to visit Texas A&M University to present their work. The prize also carries with it the opportunity for publication in the *Presidency and Leadership Studies* series published by Texas A&M University Press.

Nominations for the prize should include three copies of the dissertation and a cover letter. They should be sent to George C. Edwards III, Director, The Center for Presidential Studies, George Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843. Dissertations accepted for degree completion in 1997 are eligible. The deadline for nominations is February 15, 1998. For additional information visit the Center's web site at www-bushschool.tamu.edu/prez.html.

Lithuanian "Politologists" Seek Liaison With U.S. Colleagues

Political scientists with an interest in Lithuania, or the Baltics generally, are invited to join "LITPSNET" (Lithuanian Political Science Network), an informal association of American scholars with interests in Lithuania's politics and government and their development. The Network maintains contact with LPS (Lithuanian Politologist Association) which would like to publish a "Who's Who" of international scholars of Lithuanian politics and public administration. Those interested should send their c.v. to Stan Vanagunas, Department of Political Science, Arkansas State University, State University, AR 72467-1750; Phone: (870) 972-3048; Fax: (870) 972-2720; E-mail: vanagas@toltec. astate.edu,

South Dakota Political Science and Public Affairs Association Formed

In August, a number of political science scholars met in Pierre, SD to form the South Dakota Political Science and Public Affairs Association. The following officers were elected:

President: Delmer Lonowski, South Dakota State University Vice-President: Ahrar Ahmad, Black Hills State University Secretary-Treasurer: Donald Dahlin, University of South Dakota.

For further information, or to join, please contact Delmer Lonowski at lonowskid@ur.sdstate.edu.

Women's Caucus Elects New Officers

The Women's Caucus in Political Science elected officers for 1997–98 during its business meeting at the recent APSA Annual Meeting. These officers include:

President: Mary Hawkesworth, University of Louisville

President-Elect: Mary Shanley, Vasser College

Secretary/Membership Director: Cathy Cohen, Yale University

Treasurers: Nancy McGlen and Meredith Reid Stokes, Niagara University.

Inquiries regarding the Caucus should be directed to Cathy Cohen via e-mail at ccohen@yalevm.cis.yale.edu.

International Social Survey Program

The ISSP has conducted an annual round of cross-national surveys since 1985. Nearly 200 surveys with over a quarter million respondents have been carried out. The ISSP currently has 29 countries as members (Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United States).

Recently the ISSP secretariat moved from Germany to the United States. Those interested in more information

about the ISSP can consult either of the following two web sites or contact the secretariat. Countries wishing to join the ISSP should contact the secretariat.

ISSP web site at the Central Archive for Empirical Social Science Research: http://www.za.uni-koeln.de/data/en/issp.

ISSP secretariat web site: http://www.issp.org.

ISSP secretariat: Tom W. Smith, NORC, 1155 East 60th St., Chicago, IL 60637; Phone: (773) 256-6288; Fax: (773) 753-7886; E-mail: smitht@norcmail. uchicago.edu.

Browne Center for International Politics

The Department of Political Science at the University of Pennsylvania announces the founding of the Christopher H. Browne Center for International Politics. The CIP supports a variety of programs including a speaker series, periodic "great debates" on important contemporary issues in world politics, conferences and research seminars, and publication of a working papers series. The Center will also invite outstanding senior and junior scholars and experienced practitioners to participate as visiting or post-doctoral fellows. Additional information about the Center is available on its web site at http://www.sas.upenn. edu/penncip/ or from its Director, Avery Goldstein, Department of Political Science, 217 Stiteler Hall, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215; Phone: (215) 898-7641; E-mail: penncip@sas.upenn.edu.