DIVISION II COMMISSION 10

SOLAR ACTIVITY

ACTIVITE SOLAIRE

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi
Karel J. Scrijver
James A. Klimchuk
Paul Charbonneau, Lyndsay Fletcher,
S. Sirajul Hasan, Hugh S. Hudson,
Kanya Kusano, Cristina H. Mandrini,
Hardi Peter, Bojan Vršnak,
Yihua Yan

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS SESSION, 23 August 2012

The Business Meeting of Commission 10 was held as part of the Business Meeting of Division II (Sun and Heliosphere), chaired by Valentin Martínez-Pillet, the President of the Division. The President of Commission 10 (C10; Solar activity), Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi, took the chair for the business meeting of C10. She summarised the activities of C10 over the triennium and the election of the incoming OC.

1. IAU meetings

The OC has solicited, reviewed and endorsed IAU Symposium, Special Session, and Joint Discussion proposals, offered advice to the proposers. Members of the OC actively participated in the organisation of IAU meetings and one OC member has served as Editor of the Proceedings of IAUS 286 (Mandrini & Webb, 2012).

2. Triennial Report

The usual team effort by the OC produced a summary of science progress in solar activity over the previous three years. The Triennial Report was published in Transactions IAU, T28A (van Driel-Gesztelyi et al., 2012), and is available on the website of C10. Usually, triennial reports are quite long, e.g. the C10 report was 14 pages long in 2005, and 26 pages long in 2008. This time the OC of C10 made an attempt to observe the nominal 6-page limit on triennial commission reports, but in order to be able to produce a meaningful summary of science progress, the report eventually doubled the nominal length.

3. Website

The C10 website was maintained (see link from $http://www.lmsal.com/iau_c10/$). It includes recent reports of the Commission and the Division as well as a list of OC members and officers dating back to 1970, and Presidents dating back to 1925. This historical list was revised and updated.

4. Solar Target Naming Convention

In 2009, Carolus J. Schrijver, V-P of C10, proposed a standardised convention for identifying solar events (e.g., flares and CMEs) to be included in publications so that search engines can easily identify other relevant publications in the on-line literature. Three years ago, C10 formally endorsed the proposal, so did the Solar Physics journal. However, the naming convention needs to be widely adopted to become a useful literature-mining tool. It is recommended that the major journals make solar naming convention a standard requirement in solar physics articles. The proposal can be found at $http: //www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/divisions/E/objectives/.$

5. Membership and new applicants

C10 has 647 members and received 78 new applications for membership from applicants who became IAU members at the IAU GA – an impressive increase.

6. Remembrance

The names of C10 members deceased during the last triennium, being known to the IAU, were shown: A. Dollfus, S. Enome, G. Gelfreigh, E.A. Tandberg-Hanssen, M. Kundu, J. Parkinson, M. Semel, A. Tlamicha. I. Tuominen, and H. Zirin.

7. Outgoing OC

The president thanked the members of the outgoing OC for their service: Karel (C.J.) Schrijver (USA; Vice-President), Paul Charbonneau (Canada), Lyndsay Fletcher (UK), S. Sirajul Hasan (India), Hugh S. Hudson (USA), Kanya Kusano (Japan), Cristina H. Mandrini (Argentina), Hardi Peter (Germany), Bojan Vršnak (Croatia), Yihua Yan (China), and James A. Klimchuk (USA; Past President).

8. Election of the officers and the OC for 2012-2015

Because electronic voting seemed to be quite complicated, the election was conducted within the OC. First, the new President was elected. Following tradition, the Vice President became President by unanimous approval. Karel (C.J.) Schrijver has long experience in C10: he was Secretary of C10 in the period 2006-2009 and Vice-President of C10 in the period 2009-2012. Second, the new Vice-President was elected from those members of the OC, who wished to be considered. Lyndsay Fletcher, who has been OC member since 2006, became V-P of C10. Third, the new OC was formed in three steps. (i) OC members, who served two terms and/or felt too busy to continue, stepped down, including Hugh Hudson, Kanya Kusano, Cristina Mandrini, Hardi Peter, and Bojan Vršnak. (ii) Based on proposals by the OC, a slate of 18 candidates was assembled for the vacated OC membership positions, and (iii) with secret voting the new OC members were elected. The new OC of C10 is as follows:

President Karel (C.J.) Schrijver (USA) Vice-President Lyndsay Fletcher (UK)

Past President Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi (France, Hungary, UK)
 Board Ayumi Asai (Japan), Paul Cally (Australia),

Paul Charbonneau (Canada), Sarah Gibson (USA), Daniel O. Gomez (Argentina), S. Sirajul Hasan (India),

Yihua Yan (China), Astrid Veronig (Austria).

It was remarked that the geographical distribution of the OC remained even, and its gender ratio shows an increasing participation of women (up from 25% to 45%) in the OC compared to the former triennial period.

At the end of the C10 business meeting, the President invited the audience to make suggestions on how the Commission could better serve its members during the next triennium and beyond, but pressing time constraints prevented any substantial discussion.

Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi President of the Commission

References

van Driel-Gesztelyi, L., Schrijver, C. J., Klimchuk, J. A., Charbonneau, P., Fletcher, L., Hasan, S. S., Hudson, H. S., Kusano, K., Mandrini, C. H., Peter, H., Vršnak, B., & Yan, Y. 2012, Commission 10: Solar Activity, *Transactions of the International Astronomical Union, Series A*, 28, 69-80.

Mandrini, C. H. & Webb, D. (eds.) 2012, Comparative minima characterising quiet times in the Sun and stars. IAU Symposium 286, Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.