BULLETIN

OF THE

BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

July, 1953

VOL. 1

CONTENTS		
CONTENTS	P	AGE
THE EQUATORIE OF THE PLANETIS, BY DEREK J. PRICE		223
THE ZOGRASCOPE—A FORGOTTEN NAME IN OPTICS, BY J. A. CHALDEGOTT, M.Sc., A.INST.	Ρ.	227
Proceedings at Meetings, October 1952 to May 1953		230
Notices		232
REPORT OF THE COUNCIL		233
Book Reviews		235

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

1953 - 1954

PRESIDENT

Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas, M.B.E., F.R.S.

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE
Prof. HERBERT DINGLE
Prof. J. R. Partington, M.B.E.

Prof. L. Rosenfeld Dr. Charles Singer Robert S. Whipple, Esq.

HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Ravensmead, Keston, Kent.

HONORARY TREASURER

DR. H. R. CALVERT

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. Angus Armitage J. A. Chaldecott, Esq. Dr. R. S. Clay Dr. A. R. Hall. Dr. N. H. DE V. Heathcote Dr. H. Heywood Dr. E. J. HOLMYARD
THOMAS MARTIN, Esq.
Prof. Eva G. R. Taylor
Dr. F. Sherwood Taylor
Dr. E. Ashworth Underwood
Dr. G. J. Whitrow

Dr. G. J. WHITROW

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN

VICE-CHAIRMAN

L. L. WHYTE, Esq.

Prof. K. R. POPPER

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN Prof. P. B. MEDAWAR, F.R.S. Dr. J. O. WISDOM

Editor of the Bulletin

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE,

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.I.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £3 3s. 0d., or £1 1s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year; Members paying £3 3s. 0d. receive Annals of Science.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the Group may obtain the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science for the reduced annual subscription of £1 2s. 0d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society.